Week 6 Discussion – Both Classes

Monday/Wednesday

You are starting Excel next week. Hurray! Excel is fun! Trust me on this. I know what I speak of.

  1. How do you feel about your knowledge of Excel? Have you used it before? When?
  2. Have you ever used it for something at home? What for? Was it helpful?
  3. What parts of Excel do you think you’ll have the most trouble with? Look for a website that talks about this part of Excel (for example, if you think you’re biggest problem will be with functions or formulas, search for an article like that.) When you find it, link it for us and let us know how it will help, or how it didn’t help.
  4. If you have finished your First Mod (Word and Access) please let Michelle (Tuesday/Thursday) know a little about Word. What is your favorite part of Word? What was the hardest part of Word? What kind of advice can you give her to do well in Word?

First Response is Due by Wednesday, February 12th by 6pm. Must be at least 200 words.

Second Response (2 of them) are due by Monday, February 17th by 6pm. 75 words or more.

Tuesday/Thursday

You are starting Word next week. Hurray! I love Word. I can do so many things in Word. I can do things in Word that I don’t even teach you how to do in Word. Love WORD!

  1. How do you feel about your knowledge of Word? Have you used it before? When? Why?
  2. Have you ever used it for something at home? What for?
  3. Do you open the program and just type or do you know more about it than that?
  4. What parts of Word you think will give you the most problems? Look for a website that talks about that part of Word and share it with us. Do you think it will be helpful throughout the course?
  5. You’re finishing up your First Mod. The Monday/Wednesday class are 6 weeks behind you and are just starting Excel. Give them a bit of advice about Excel. What helped you understand parts of it? What can they do to ensure they do well in Excel?

First Response is due by Thursday, February 13th by 6pm. Must be at least 200 words.

Second Response is due by Tuesday, February 18th by 6pm. Must be at least 75 words. There must be TWO responses, at the least.

11 responses

  1. I am very excited to learn Excel. I don’t have experience with it except what I have done with PowerPoint and I thought that was very hard at first but not so hard now. I think if I can learn how to use Excel it will help get my finances and life a little more organized. I think by what I have done with PowerPoint, the worst part will be to get used to the format and which steps to take first. http://www.whatisexcel.net/ is the web site that I went to and it explained a lot of what Excel is and how it can help you get organized with not only numbers but text as well. I thought before I read this information that it was only number graphs. The web site says that it has a satisfaction rating of 96% I think that is impressive and I am very much looking forward to learning this new Program. I also read that back before we had this new program it was all about human error and calculating and recalculating to be sure it was correct. I remember in high school doing all the accounting programs, charts, and graphs by hand and then if we got new information we had to begin again. Now it does the calculations and recalculates when things change within a minute. It went from an full day process to a matter of minutes. I’m very excited to learn Excell.

  2. I’m looking forward to leaning Excel, but I think I might have a hard time with formulas, I hear anything pertaining to math and I cringe obviously it was my least favorite subject in school. Reading from the article link (below) it sounds like it might be easier than what I make it out to be either way it will be interesting to see how it all works. I use excel 2007 on a daily basis for my workplace, but only the basics I took an online class, however it was somewhat useful I’m a “hands on” learner and that is how I came to realize that I had to go back to school and sharpen my skills. The article I found talks about how excel is the most important computer software program used in the workplace today that’s why so many workers and prospective employees are required to learn excel in order to enter or remain in the workplace. Excel can be used as a receiver of workplace or business data, or as a calculator, a decision support tool, a data converter or even a display spreadsheet for information interpretation. Excel can create a chart or graph, operate in conjunction with mail Merge functions, import data from the Internet, using conditional formatting rich data displays schemes, you can evaluate and illustrate important trends and highlight exceptions with colored gradients, data bars and icons. The single most important thing an employer may do is learn Excel – it is one of the most essential tools of the workplace.
    http://ezinearticles.com/?The-Importance-Of-Excel-In-The-Workplace&id=724646

  3. I have very limited knowlege of excel. I have used it before a couple years ago> I helped some friends of mine with bookkeeping for their side business. I entered numbers in the boxes of the spreadsheets on excel. I didn’t really do anything else with excel. I have never used excel at home before.
    I will probably have problems intially with excel ( like I did with powerpoint) at first because my use with the program is so limited. i think that once I start studying it and doing the homework for the tutorials I will probably learn alot to be able to use it.
    The article i found was very informative. it discussed the formulas of excel. The author talks about the 10 formulas he uses to make excel easier to use regularly.
    They are 1. sum, 2. count, 3. counta, 4. len, 5. trim, right, left mid, 7. vlookup, 8. if statements, 9.sumif, countif, average if and 10. concatenate. Ok honestly this article did not really help me understand excel any better. I thought that maybe it could give me a basic understanding of excel. The article was needless to say a little over my head. it discusses further where to go for help, if fact the author thought he was going to lose his job so he learned execel very quickly like two weeks on how to use excel. He also ended up writing a tutorial course you can take online.
    https://www.udemy.com/blog/excel-formulas/

  4. So far a feel that everything we have done was just a review of what I already knew, I mean I learned some new thing in all the other programs (Word, PowerPoint, & Access) but I felt as if they were not difficult to understand. Excel on the other hand I have not used as much as say PowerPoint so I am very excited to see what this module will holds. The only time I ever used Excel was in high school and I feel like they did not cover enough to be honest. I have used Excel once to try and make a budget for myself but then I got frustrated and just did my budget on a piece of paper. I’m sure that Excel could have been a big help but I didn’t really know how to use it. I’m not really sure what would be the most difficult for me so I looked up what people have the most trouble with on average. I found an article entitled “The 10 most important things to teach your Excel users” to gain some insight. There was a section that was about Formula Auditing that looked interesting, it explained that when your put in a formula that comes back incorrect how to troubleshoot it. I think this would be difficult for me, troubleshooting requires you to think outside that box in order to fix the problem and troubleshooting is not my favorite thing but that is what Google is for!

    http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/10-things/the-10-most-important-things-to-teach-your-excel-users/2854/

    Hey Michelle,

    I really like using the themes in Word being able to create your own custom themes is pretty fun and gives you creative freedom which I like. I did not really have a hard time in general with Word at all, the Macros can be a little wired but it just took some getting used to. The only advice I have for you is to learn the Backstage View as much a possible because most of the MOS Exam is in the Backstage View, and that is where I had the most problems.

    1. Austin I really like that you’re excited about starting Excel. I just replied to Will’s comment and we both seem a little worried about it. It’s better to go into Excel with a positive attitude. The website you chose was extremely informative and to the point. It stated everything in “Lehmans Terms” ( haha cause that’s my last name). I like that it blankly states that there are limitations to the software and the user.
      I also like that it says to right click if you don’t know something because that’s what I usually do.

  5. I’m…apprehensive, at best, about my knowledge in Excel, mostly because the last time i used it, I was a sophmore in Highschool.

    I’ve never used Excel outside of school, as it was always pretty confusing for me. I understood most of the calculations, but I never really figured out what use it was, because to me, if you already know the calculations, you could just use a pen and paper, or a phone, or something. Excel always seemed pretty…redundant in my opinion, afterall, theres nothing you can do in Excel that you cant do in other programs like Word or Access.

    I will have trouble with using excel period. it’s definatly one of my least favorite things to use. i understand it, and know how to use it, i just think it rather overly-complex, nearly useless in life as a whole, and, as stated before, redundant.

    http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/microsoft-excel-manage-life/
    http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080616105909AAfsn4P

    There was alot of things listed in google that excel could be used for, but the first site i found stood out the most. This guy really knows what he’s doing, and actually uses MS Excel to manage not only his daily life, but also his budgets, debts, and websites among other things. Did you know you can Ping websites in excel? because I sure didn’t. I listed the second site because i found out something new, that as a parent, i will definatly have to attempt to do for my son. It told me I could make a program to help my son understand fractions, which mostlikely means I could use it for explaining both basic and advanced math to my son, which I found to be really cool.

    To Michelle:

    Hi! I’m will, and my favorite part about word was the writing. I use word alot at home for writing my books and poetry. the hardest part about word in my opinion is dealing with the macros. Usually I just avoid them, but simple ones have made my life alot easier. My advice for you as you enter Word would be to have fun, and learn to enjoy writing, if you don’t already

    1. Will, I think you will do really well in Excel. You may not like it very much but it’s actually fairly straightforward. I’m a little worried about using it too because I’ve had very little experience with it. The little bit we have done in class has helped but I’m worried about how in depth we go into it. I’m hoping that the first week or two will be easy so I’ll have more time to get used to it.

  6. I have great knowledge of excel because I just finished high school recently meaning I have had to do projects with excel and I have made an excel chart for my family before for a babysitting chart. It was very helpful it showed how many hours each of my brothers watch our sisters for and how much we would be paid for such hours. I don’t remember having any troubles with excel at the moment, all I remember that it was quite a simple program to use. After much thinking and assistance from Dawn I have no clue nested functions are http://spreadsheets.about.com/od/tipsandfaqs/qt/nested_if.htm a function is like =IF(logic test, value if true, value if false) it’s a logic test that checks if a statement is true or false. Also what a statement would look like if with data plugged in =IF(A5<29701,A5*15%,IF(A5<71950,A5*25%,A5*28%)) quite complex looking but shouldn’t be a problem to learn. This website is quite helpful.
    Alright word is to me one of the easiest part of core over all its typing with lots of art into it the only thing that gave me any issues was that there’s macros which I had never used in word before because I didn’t know they had any thing of the sorts.

  7. 1. How do you feel about your knowledge of Excel? Have you used it before? When?
    -I used it once for a class but I have no other experience with it, so I have no confidence with this program. But hopefully it won’t be too hard.

    2. Have you ever used it for something at home? What for? Was it helpful?
    -No.

    3. What parts of Excel do you think you’ll have the most trouble with? Look for a website that talks about this part of Excel (for example, if you think you’re biggest problem will be with functions or formulas, search for an article like that.) When you find it, link it for us and let us know how it will help, or how it didn’t help.
    -I don’t really know. Since I haven’t really used it much (and don’t remember like anything about what I did do in the program) there’s nothing specific really that I’ll have trouble with. But here’s a good site for general help, I guess.

    http://spreadsheets.about.com/od/excel101/a/Excel_beg_guide.htm

    4. If you have finished your First Mod (Word and Access) please let Michelle (Tuesday/Thursday) know a little about Word. What is your favorite part of Word? What was the hardest part of Word? What kind of advice can you give her to do well in Word?
    Michelle,

    Personally, my favorite part of Word is just the ability to format stuff, I guess. You can make some pretty neat stuff. The hardest part of Word is probably just memorizing all the tabs and different ways to do things. Also, maybe Macros. When it comes to that stuff just look around the program when you can, I guess. I find that looking around at all the tabs and stuff really helps make it easier to understand and find things.

  8. I don’t feel very confident in my knowledge of Excel. I’ve played around with it a little and we have used it in class but I haven’t had much practice with it. I know basically how it works and I know what Excel is used for as far as building spreadsheets and using it to keep track of how much money you spend and what not. My mom uses Excel on a daily basis and she is kind of excited to be able to help me with something in school. I haven’t used Excel at home. I used it in high school a little bit and we have used it at Interface in the other core classes but that’s all the practice I’ve had.
    http://spreadsheets.about.com/od/excelformulas/ss/formula_begin.htm
    I think that the formulas will give me the most trouble. I’m hoping that I pick it up quickly though. It just looks really difficult but when I learn about how it works I think I’ll do ok. The website I chose has about 8 pages of Excel formulas for beginners. It’s written in a way that someone new to Excel would understand and that’s why I chose it. My favorite part of Word is the WordArt but my favorite part of the class was making the newsletter. I don’t think that Word was very difficult but there is a lot to it and even though I have used Word a lot, there were a lot of things that were new to me. I think that practicing is the best advice I could give.

  9. Dawn, I have to say that I do too love Word is my favorite because is the program that I use the most. I don’t know so much about the nice things that this program have, but at least I can use it and present a nice word document with the basic nothing fancy.
    In the past, I did used when attended at Spokane Community College. I have to use it almost for every assignment in different classes even with Physics. You say if I had any kind of problem. I don’t think so because like I say only the basics are what I know so never have any problem. I cannot wait to start Word I know already that I am going to enjoy and learn a lot just like Excel and kind of PowerPoint. There is no question that I enjoy more Excel than PowerPoint could be because working at 3:00 am didn’t help me a lot to concentrate in that program. Thus, Excel was a very nice experience and for sure I will be applying what I learned in my future job.
    For the Monday/Wednesday class my advice for Excel is to enjoy this program you guys are going to be amazed with all the functions and application that you guys are going to learn and use all the time especially in Medical field where we have to input data and lots of patient information. What really, really help me was to do homework, lots of practicing asking Dawn why is this function for? And believe it or not know how to read the TABS. So, again practice, practice, and practice and have fun.
    Good luck to all of you!

