Michelle, Week 5 Discussion

I have fielded a lot of questions about Portfolios–what they should look like, what they should have in them, how they should be organized, et al. So, for today’s discussion, I’d like you to find that information for yourself. First, read the ehow article http://www.ehow.com/about_5114694_should-portfolio-look-like.html and discuss what you’ve learned from it. Did it help you understand better what items should be in your portfolio? Did it give you more questions than answers? What questions? What answers?

Now, look for two more websites about portfolios. Share the links and the key words you used to find them. Summarize the websites, hitting the key points the site emphasizes. Do you agree or disagree? Why? Also, if it primarily mentions online portfolios or art-related portfolios, what concepts can you take from the site to use on your professional portfolio?

This needs to be at least 250 words. It is due on February 6th by 6pm (initial response). Your second response is due by Tuesday February 11th, by 6pm.

3 responses

  1. The web that you posted is very interesting because describe the different types of how to present a portfolio according the career that would chose. Also, explain what to include and other examples of what should be good to include as well. Unfortunally, this doesn’t fit my needs or what I am looking for because does not have “details” and that’s what I am looking for, but did learn that there are online portfolio and tell us the advantage and disadvantage when is submitted to future employer.

    I did some research that I can use because give me some basic ideas of what to include in the preparation of my portfolio. The first site was http://www.wikihow.com/Make-an-Art-Portfolio

    I found it was good because give some pictures so we can see I may looks like but is was not enough for me. The second site that I looked was https://www.kent.ac.uk/careers/cv/portfolios.htm

    Examples like this is what I was looking for because give me more details of what an employer would like to see have more alternatives that we can use in case we want to do another type of portfolio, very simple pretty much like was taught in PD class. So, I may use this web for consulting when I prepare my portfolio for next mock interview.

    1. Tell me more about what these sites helped you understand about what you can include. For instance, tell me what you would include, how you would include it, and why you would include it. Also, you didn’t really summarize what the websites contained, just a few things you liked about it. So answer these questions:

      Summarize the websites, hitting the key points the site emphasizes. Do you agree or disagree? Why? Also, if it primarily mentions online portfolios or art-related portfolios, what concepts can you take from the site to use on your professional portfolio?

      Art portfolios are different than professional portfolios, but some of the things from art portfolios can be used in professional portfolios. What do you think you can use from art portfolios in your own portfolio? (you may need to research this)

      1. The first site was more how to make an art portfolio than professional, because show how you can make one with an artist style. This kind of portfolio is more for architects, designers, photographer, and other artistic people. This type has to have the recent and the best work in order to impress the employer. I didn’t have any idea what an art portfolio was until I start my research. I did learn thou, because this is my first time that I am involved in portfolio. I think that I can use from this type of portfolio is the latest and best presentation ( Excel or PowerPoint ) so I can included into mine showing the employer what type of things I can do in these programs.
        The second site I could include for my portfolio is to make it easy to understand, quality, be neat, clear, and used the correct order, pretty much what I was taught in Professional Development. So it was very interesting to understand the two types of portfolios and how I can use in mine portfolio.

