Week 5 Discussion – Monday/Wednesday Class

Speaking Publicly to People

Please read this article on Public Speaking.  http://www.stresscure.com/jobstress/speak.html

Then answer:

What did you learn?  Did he say anything that surprised you?  What will you take away from this as you get ready to give your presentation to the class?  Is there anything you disagreed with?  Tell us why on all of your responses.

Look for two articles on giving presentations or public speaking. Link your articles to your post and give us a brief overview of what each article offers.

Then answer:

Did they agree with what the article said? Did they differ? How? What will you use from the articles during your own presentation? What was the best piece of advice you found in these articles?

Due Dates

First response is due by Wednesday, February 5th by 6pm. It should be at least 200 words in length.

Second responses (2 of them) are due by Monday, February 10th by 6pm.

25 responses

  1. I thought the article was very informative it helped put my mind at ease to know that it is okay to know that I’m not expected to be a professional speaker or that it is okay to be nervous standing in front of a group of people I hardly know giving a presentation for the first time or I am not the only one who has fears of about getting tongue tied or if I mess up and accidently stumble a word or two it’s reassuring to know that we are all in the same boat. I like the advice the article gives about just be yourself while giving your presentation, use humor if that helps make it easier to speak in front of a group of people. This is a good article I found on, How to speak in public to a group. A few tips: Research the topic even if it is a subject you know, take the time to brush up. Smile a smile on your face will make your audience respond more positively to you.
    http://management.about.com/od/communication/ht/PublicSpeaking6.htm
    This article has tips for public speaking as well. Visualize yourself giving your speech oh, and the one we’ve all talked about before more than once, “don’t apologize” for any nervousness or problem – the audience probably never notice it.
    http://www.toastmasters.org/tips.asp

    1. I thought you did wonderful with your presentation and you really seem to be calm and cool. You seem to take a lot of the advice to heart that these articles had to say. I tried to be calm and make it a mind over matter thing but seemed to freeze up quite a bit. I had so much more in my head but I think I kind of opened the window and it all went bye bye. I even had flash cards and forgot to use them. Maybe with time it will get easier.

      1. Thank you for your encouragement, it was needed and good to hear! I thought you did good as well and as for forgetting to use your flash cards, that just means you weren’t struggling to find the right words to say! Good job! 🙂

      2. time definatly helps suzie, and practice can help too. easiest way to practice is to get friends and family members to sit down, watch you present, and then ask for constructive critizism, you know, what things did you do that you should avoid doing, or maybe messing up on a slide or two. giving your speech in front of the mirror, while it sounds cliche’d, really does help. i used to do it when i was in highschool. my poetry teacher, Renée Roehl(not sure if thats the right spelling on the last name,) would have the class present our poems to the other classrooms in school for our tests, and our final was reading in front of the entire school in the auditorium. THAT was freaking nerve wracking. but it was really fun, and i was able to really engage my audience, and make them feel and see what they heard.

    2. Gina i liked what you said about not being a experienced or professional speaker. I don’t any of us in this class are “professional” public speakers. It is normal to be nervous and to maybe stumble over our words. I think humor is important to, if we make a mistake during our presentation, its ok to laugh about it. We aren’t perfect, and I know when I’m nervous and I make a mistake either saying or doing the wrong thing If I can at myself a little that helps ease the tension. To realize we aren’t perfect speakers, and that learning is a part of growing.
      I know you are glad your presentation is over, I could tell you really knew your subject. You seemed to appear that enjoyed talking about it, ( even if you were nervous inside). I like the water sound effects, and that you even showed a picture of your mountain bike too. You did great, I enjoyed listening and being a part of your audience.

  2. I learned a lot about the ark of speaking and how a lot of it is mind over matter. If you try too hard you will be putting undo stress on yourself. Don’t get me wrong you have to know your stuff but you won’t help yourself by stressing out. I was surprised that he said that you don’t have to make everyone happy. I always believed that you had to have EVERYONE’S undivided attention to be a successful. Too many facts can be boring and lose the audience. I can see that being a problem and I hope my presentation will not be too much but just enough. Being happy with those you impressed and not worrying about those you didn’t would be hard for me but I can see his point. You can’t make everyone sit still and listen and be interested. He says a little humility and humor go a long way. I’ve been in meetings that where a big joke and never really got anything accomplished. I truly believe what he said about knowing your subject well. I hope that my preparation will do that for me. http://www.toastmasters.org/tips.asp This article says to practice, practice, practice and the other says to not overdo it. They seem to be about the visual like visualizing the audience clapping. I also don’t know if I agree with the way they said that your speech should represent you. I think your speech should represent the facts you are talking about. http://speaking-tips.com/ In this article I found a few things I agreed with like that if you need help don’t be afraid to ask. Also they said quotes can strengthen a speech, and sometimes the message isn’t as important as the speaker. I don’t know if I agree with these statements. Most of the information is very similar to each other except what I have put in this blog. I feel I have learned a lot especially all the variations and helpful hints.

    1. Looks like a couple of us chose the same article from the toastmasters website. I found it interesting because it had a few good tips on public speaking as well as the one that Dawn shared with the class. Interesting how some articles will have a positive impact and others seem somewhat negative. I think it depends on how life is viewed from the writers point of view in general and public speaking as a whole.

    2. Suzie I have to agree about the comment you made about this article. That we have to have our audience’s undivided attention to be succeessful. I thought this way as well, until I read this article. We can’t control our audience, if they like the information great, but if they are bored, distracted, sleepy or just walk out what can you do? We just can’t take it personally. I too was suprised about over practicing our presentation, I always though that praticing makes you better but the article said the opposite.
      I really enjoyed your presentation because you knew your subject well, and that came across. I enjoyed the information, and it was very interesting to listen and to watch. I didn’t think you even needed your notes, you really knew your material. good job!

  3. Calvin Says:

    Alright what I learned is that speaking publicly is not inherently stressful, and that you don’t have to be a genius to speak in front of a crowd. Even though I knew this, thinking that you are not public speaking is honestly not easy for some like me. Also with nothing bad can happen I know for a fact that when some people go in front of groups they either pass out and or forget everything and look like a fool.

    http://www.toastmasters.org/tips.asp

    This one says practice, practice, practice which the article above says go with the flow.

    I agreed with this one and the next one because both aren’t about how public speaking isn’t stressful their about how to get past the stress.

    http://money.howstuffworks.com/18-tips-for-public-speaking.htm

    This one is just like the article I selected above but quite different than the article I had read above in which this one says practice, practice, practice but in the one on the top it says too much practice and anything that you think you forgot that you haven’t forgot gets stuck in your mind and you end up repeating yourself. This article and the one directly above are completely similar.

    1. Yeah I agree people can pass out or completely blank out or they can have panic attacks etc., so bad things actually can happen.

  4. I learned a lot from this article. I learned that public speaking is not stressful, you don’t have to perfect to succeed, the best way to succeed is not to consider yourself a public speaker, and that your audience truly wants you to succeed.
    I was surprised about the statement you don’t have to control your audience. I always thought in order for a public speaker to be great, they had to be able to win over their audience, by keeping their attention throughout the presented material. Also the more you practice the worse you will do. I always thought the more your practice something you are not particularly skilled at; you would get better at it not worse.
    I will take away the statement your audience truly wants you to succeed in your presentation. It helps you stay positive no matter how your presentation turns out in the end.
    I disagree with the over preparing statement of the article, i just can’t get over that i was always taught practice makes perfect (or a close to perfect as you can get.)
    In the first article, better public speakinghttp://www.mindtools.com/CommSkll/PublicSpeaking.htm
    It discussed the importance of planning, engaging your audience, pay attention to your body language, think positively, cope with nerves, and finally to watch recording of your speeches. I appreciated where it talked about how we will encounter some form of public speaking in our lives, such as being asked to deliver a eulogy at a loved one’s funeral, making a speech at a wedding reception and inspire a group of volunteers at a charity event
    In the second article 18 public speaking tips http://money.howstuffworks.com/18-tips-for-public-speaking.htm it discusses how to have a great presentation. The tips are watch the masters, fix up look sharp, hello room nice to meet you, sober up, know your material, practice, visualize being fabulous, know your audience, relax, don’t give it away, slow your roll (talk slower) the eyes have it, go on and be funny, your errors are okay, keep it short please, it’s so not about you, fake it till you make it, and finally be yourself.

  5. I didn’t really learn anything from the article. I’ve heard and read all of these things before. Nothing he said surprised me, and I probably won’t take anything away from this, really. I disagree with principle #7. In it he says that nothing bad can happen, then says that things might actually go wrong, but that they can be controlled and handled. He mentions that if people do start to leave during the presentation, you can stop and ask for feedback and stuff. However he doesn’t mention how to control most of the bad events that he did list, such as passing out. All sorts of things could go wrong during a presentation. I could have a heart attack and die. I could faint. I could have a panic attack, and regardless of control techniques, it’d still get in the way and leave me embarrassed for the rest of the time. You never know what will happen and therefore I disagree with #7 sort of, even if my examples are rather extreme. Though for the more minor bad events, I guess it does apply. It doesn’t ease my worry at all, however.

    The articles I chose are the following;
    http://www.entrepreneur.com/article/229925
    http://www.forbes.com/sites/susanadams/2012/03/07/why-public-speaking-scares-you-and-how-to-overcome-your-fears/

    The articles mention having a game plan, controlling your environment, and some other things. I think having a game plan is one of the most important tips. I will attempt to apply many of these to my presentation. They mainly seem to agree with the article.

    1. I agree that things could and will go wrong in a presentation it’s all about how you handle it, if you handle things with poise and grace everything will be okay. Showing that you can handle the stress when things do go wrong will only work to your advantage it will show people that you are quick to think on your feet it turn giving the sense that you can handle almost anything even if you don’t think you can. Give yourself some more credit than that, in order to handle the stresses of the presentation you need to believe that you can. That is half the battle believing in yourself!

      1. Some people are medically unable to handle things with poise or grace without the aid of medication. Even knowing things will be okay and trying to believe in yourself can’t help, sometimes. If the brain is conditioned to react a certain way to situations, those with disorders can find it very hard to control their fear and calm themselves. But I agree that showing you can handle stress when things go wrong do work to your advantage.

  6. I thought that the article as a whole was very informational. I liked the points he made about picking two or three main topics and about not viewing yourself as a public speaker. I’ve heard that people only pick up about 15% of the facts that someone is trying to convey to them. I totally agree with that too. Even when I am really focused and interested in the topics, most of the time I won’t remember every single fact I’m told. However, I will remember the main topic and points of the conversation. I was surprised to find out that most public speakers had a fear or worry about public speaking before they started. Humility and humor is something I’m going to take away from this article. I feel like they speak to my strong abilities more. I do disagree that speaking in public is not inherently stressful. Maybe some people get used to it but I think there is always some stress involved with public speaking.
    http://www.entrepreneur.com/article/229925
    This article is short and sweet. It lists five good tips about public speaking.
    http://www.forbes.com/sites/susanadams/2012/03/07/why-public-speaking-scares-you-and-how-to-overcome-your-fears/
    This article is much longer. It has some tips on the second page but the first page talks about why public speaking scares you.

  7. After reading this article, I noticed that I felt exactly how the author felt about speaking in public. I can answer questions in class, say a few things here and there, but when it comes to me speaking in front of a group my anxiety shots through the roof! I start mumbling and getting my words mixed up. I was surprised at the tip that says “the more you prepare, the worse you’ll do.” Whenever I have to do a presentation that is one of the things I worry about. I always wonder if I have enough information, so I will go and look for all the extra info I can. One of the things I disagreed with was principle #5: don’t consider yourself a public speaker. I have tried to use this method before. In classes I where I have had presentations, I try to imagine myself f explaining something to friends. I’m comfortable around them; I can be myself and be vibrant and outgoing. When I am around people in new to, it freaks me out. I can’t seem to get into that comfort zone. Since I do have trouble with public speaking, I will definitely try to take advantage of the whole article and try my best to use the advice during the presentation.
    I checked out a few sites and this one was short and to the point.
    http://www.toastmasters.org/tips.asp
    it gives some of the same principles as How to Conquer Public Speaking Fear. I agreed with the article. I will use some of those tips as well. I will practice running through my presentation to try and get comfortable with it.
    http://www.publicspeakingtip.org/

    1. I’m sure you could tell by the way I struggled that I was a little panic stricken. I know the article was supposed to help but as soon as I got up I felt the terror. I had so much more information to tell and even had card to go by but I kind of lost it. I tried to remember it was all mind over matter but wow it was scary. I believe what you said about “the more you prepare the worse you will do” I practiced and worked really hard and got my presentation done early but It made almost made it worse by having too much time to prepare. I tried to use several things from the article like: practice, know what you are talking about, and don’t worry about the audience but I didn’t succeed very well.

      1. i don’t know about that. you seemed pretty confident up there in my opinion. you didn’t stammer much, and you really knew what you were talking about. you have to keep in mind that its not how YOU see you, its how the audience sees you. Even if you are freaking out inside because one of your slides is “broken”, as long as you appear calm, no-ones probably going to notice a slide that doesnt have a transition, and even if they do, they’ll probably shrug it off and forget about it in a few minutes anyways, and the really rare ones will come up after the show, and point it out to you privately, at which point you should just pretend to have not noticed, say thanks and fix it when you get the chance.

  8. personally, i think this guy knows what he’s talking about. i’ve actually used a few of these techniques myself, although i could never have guessed that there were so many different ways to be a successful PS. i think what i will take away from this article is that public speaking is not scary or stressful, it’s how you view public speaking that can be scary and stressful. i think the only thing i did not agree with was that most audiences want you to succeed. i’ve done alot of public speaking, especially during my HS years, and alot of the time, my crowd was usually very restless, although on the other hand, i was talking to teenagers.

    http://www.toastmasters.org/tips.asp

    Toastmasters International’s tips and tricks for public speaking. it gives an overview on the same 10 things that Mr. Morton Orman covered, just in alot less words. although, i liked the way they presented the information. also something that Mr. Orman left out is Knowing your surroundings. by knowing both your audience and your room, you can effectively plan appropriate ways to present your knowledge to them.

    http://www.daniellelaporte.com/15-tips-for-public-speaking-that-apply-to-shining-at-work-and-just-about-everywhere-else/

    This site combines both genuine tips with humor, which i found really cool, since posting things online is technically a form of public speaking

    1. I thought it was interesting how Will pointed out that posting stuff online is a form of public speaking. I never thought of it that way, but he is right. I think of it as “behind the scenes” public speaking.

    2. I have also done a lot of public speaking in high school and although it was to smaller groups I still found it very stressful. I also think that the kids I was speaking to didn’t want me to succeed. In fact, it was quite the opposite. They thought it was hilarious when you messed up and sometimes they would even try to screw you up. I don’t think most groups are like that but teenagers can be very cruel. I really liked the second site you chose. It had a lot of the same points that the main article stated but it was a little more humorous and entertaining.

    3. I did not really think about what being a good public speaker is in tell I saw this article, like you I didn’t think that there was so much to it. This particular article was a big eye opener for me because now I know that there is a lot more to a presentation then I previously anticipated. I really like the second site that you posted it had a lot of in site I learned a lot. Thanks Will!

  9. The first thing I really liked about this article was that he pointed out that “you don’t have to be brilliant, witty, or perfect to succeed.” That is so true with anything that we do in our lives especially when talking to people or giving a presentation. I always had a simple time talking to people from when I was pretty young but I never knew that you only needed two or three mains points to focus on in the presentation. This is because people listening to the presentation only remember and retain so much information. There is really nothing in this article that I do not find to be true there is a lot of good advice to gain here.

    http://www.toastmasters.org/tips.asp

    http://money.howstuffworks.com/18-tips-for-public-speaking.htm#page=6

    I agreed with everything in both of the articles, I also agree that some of the ideas seemed like common sense but all in all they both had a lot of good points. The second article had a lot more to it, but this was the article that had most of the stuff that I thought would be common sense like, sober up! I would hope that is you were giving some kind of presentation you would think to not drink be before it. I found that the only thing that really helps me is to practice. Practice, practice, practice!

    1. Austin I really like the statement he made about not having to be brilliant or witty to succeed. I’ve always had trouble speaking in public and I always tried so hard to be witty because I thought that would help me. I think all you really need is confidence in yourself and some humility also helps. I also agree that practice is extremely important. I’m practicing my slideshow right now actually and I kind of wish I had made more time to practice.

