Monday/Wednesday Week 2 Discussion

PowerPoint-Less?

If your words or images are not on point, making them dance in color won’t make them relevant. Edward Tufte

Read the following article: http://www.wired.com/wired/archive/11.09/ppt2.html Do you agree or disagree with any of the content? Why or why not? Remember, this was written in 2003, but PowerPoint presentations have not changed much during that time, the program has just become much easier to use and contains a lot more fun items to play with. Then, look for at least two articles that give advice for good PowerPoint presentations. One could also be about what makes a presentation bad. Explain the relevant points in the articles after you link them. What new information did you learn? What information did you disagree with or agree with and why? Which pieces of information will you keep in mind when creating your own presentation?

Reply to two students. Your replies should be more than three sentences, and say more then “I agree.” Don’t repeat information they have given, instead, ask questions, explain why you agree or disagree. It’s a conversation, treat it as one.

First response is due by Wednesday, January 15th by 6pm. It must be at least 150 words.

Second two responses are due by Monday, January 20th by 6pm. These must be at least 75 words each.

32 responses

  1. I believe that this gentleman is very closed minded and Thinks very little of what PowerPoint can due for us. I Can see his point in a way that if you didn’t do your research and let just the slides do your work for you that it could be very boring. I think that if you use PowerPoint to your advantage you could use the graphics, charts, and pictures to inhance your presentation instead of letting the slides and the people you are presenting to do all the work. If you use the PowerPoint program as a “outline” for all your information that you are bringing to their attention then you are also showing that you know what your talking about instead of reading it all from the slides. I think that if you really want to sell anything you have to put in the work and prove that you know about the products you are selling. I also think he has a point that you can overdue the graphics, dancing pictures and so on. Depending on the type of presentation you are doing. If it’s for a toy shop for instance you would want bright colors and fun and happy images. But if its for a funeral home for instance you would want something more comforting and calming. By using the research for the client and the product you can use PowerPoint to your advantage.

    1. One of the web sights I went to was “on the inside of technology” and They felt the main pro was that people love visual aids to get their point across. Their main concern or con was that most people doing PowerPoint presentations think the presentation should be enough without any help from them. On E-Tech’s web sight they had 3 pros and 3 cons that I found interesting. Pro was that visual data helps multiple learners. Con was confusing charts. Another pro was it’s easy to follow a plan. another con was most messages would be abbreviated and not fully understood. One of the pro was things can be previewed easily. and the last main con was that they felt it was a waste of time.

      1. I have loved this site forever! It is all about making a PowerPoint Presentation awesome! Yay! http://lifehacker.com/how-can-i-make-my-powerpoint-presentations-amazing-507552122

    2. I like how you stated that the author is very close minded about what he thinks of powerpoint. Do you think maybe its because he has had and or seen some bad presentations given using powerpoint? It makes me wonder how he would feel now it being 2014 and powerpoint is more advanced and being used I would think quite frequent. I think in order to sell a product successfully you have to know your product that you are presenting, and to know your audience as well. I do think that a powerpoint presentation can get too busy with graphics, pictures and too much information. We don’t want to bore our audience to death, we want to appreciate and be interested in what our presentation is trying to get across.

      1. Plus with what said Kelly is he wrote this what back in 2003? A lot has changed since then. As I stated before I don’t agree with some of the things he mentioned. He seems rather negative, closed minded and not very optimistic. On the other hand the freedom of PowerPoint can be over powering, meaning the presentation can be too busy with unnecessary words, graphics and too long to and boring to hold the audience’s attention. A PowerPoint presentation is either going to boring or interesting depending on your imagination and how well you plan.

    3. I agree with PowerPoint being a supplement to your presentation. You shouldn’t let the PowerPoint take over your presentation. It’s a matter of putting a few key points on the slide presentation, interacting with the audience, and being able to give the audience adequate information on your topic or what you’re pitching. There are different types of PowerPoint presentations for different circumstances. If you’re doing a presentation for say, insurance, you’re not going to use a bunch of flashy antics, you’re going to get to state the facts and get to the point. Your selling a vacation or cruise, you’re going to add a little something to make it fun.

  2. I do agree with some of the content of the article. When the author speaks of using power point in the schools. Rather than learning to write a report using sentences, children are being taught how to formulate client pitches and infomercials. Elementary school PowerPoint exercises typically consists of 10 to 20 words and a piece of clip art on each slide in a presentation of three to six slides. This a total of perhaps 80 words (15 seconds of silent reading.) I remember that there was no PowerPoint when I was in elementary school. We were taught to read out loud and silently every day. There was hooked on phonectics, and different reading groups based on your reading level. What has happened to that?
    However I did find 2 articles that give advice on good PowerPoint presentations. The first one what makes a great PowerPoint presentation? http:/www.brighthub.com/computing/windows/Ms PowerPoint . what makes a great PowerPoint presentation. It discusses that PowerPoint has somewhat of a bad reputation because its users don’t use PowerPoint the way it should be used? Speakers giving the presentationare the central focus. Too often they let PowerPoint take over as their audience reads everything off the slides ignoring what they say. The article states that a good PowerPoint presentation does a number of things. First to tell a story. Second it contains lots of powerful words. Third to use few words and fourth to toss most of the bullet points. A man named Guy Kawasaki applies the 10-20-30 rule. The presentation should have 10 slides, last no more than 20 minutes and contain no smaller font than 30 points.
    The second article 5 tips to a great PowerPoint presentation. https:/www/inc.com/ss/5-tips-for-great-powerpoint-presentation #2. It discusses to tell a story a beginning a middle and an end, Less is more to keep each slide free of clutter using one image to sell your idea. Branding is key you’ll want your presentation to reinforce your brands image. To use some color schemes, font’s logos that you use on your website or company literature. Give them a break, to keep presentation short no more than 2o minutes. If you go over the 2o minutes give your audience a moment to relax. Lastly rehearse, rehearse, and rehearse. The best presenters won’t have to look down at notes and they’ll never be reading from a script.
    I learned that PowerPoint presentations can be helpful in getting the point across to your audience if used properly. I agree with not knowing your material by not rehearsing is not a good idea. As well as letting your PowerPoint slides do the talking, the slides are your assistant. I will keep all of these points in mind when creating my presentation.

    1. Kelly I get what you mean about kids not learning as much about reading or writing but in the same respect the times they are a changing. Reading and writing are more a part of our everyday lives as much as it ever was. With the way social sites are now days I think people read and write now more than ever, the internet has completely changed the way we communicate people post all kinds of things on Facebook and social sites. Almost forcing our kids into learning to read and write at a younger age.

    2. I believe what you’re saying to be true that kids are being taught more on how to work the program over knowing what they are even presenting because not so long ago in high school I did several PowerPoints that had little information but lots of pictures, let’s just say I haven’t got a bad score on PowerPoint presentations ever because teachers are looking more for if they did it right over do they have enough information to back up this presentation

  3. This guy sounds like he has some kind of personal vendetta against Microsoft; I mean he has some good points. Like how kids are not learning about writing reports and learning more about client patches and infomercials. But in the same respect the world is changing, we live in the technology era things are only going to get more and more about technology. Just within my own life computers have gone from that cool thing that everyone wanted to that thing that everyone has. I find it a little ignorant that he thinks the world won’t continue to change. Our kids need to learn about not only what is current but what the future holds. Kids now a days have more technology in their own pockets then we had on a desk ten years ago, they need to learn how to use these technologies because at the rate the world is going all the jobs in the future will be based off of those technologies.

    http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/10-tips-for-preparing-a-professional-presentation/

    Personally I liked this site it was straight and to the point, it pretty much gave a list of ten PowerPoint tips for preparing for a professional presentation.

    http://lifehacker.com/how-can-i-make-my-powerpoint-presentations-amazing-507552122

    This site gave tips on how to make your PowerPoint presentation amazing and how to avoid “death by PowerPoint” for your audience.

    1. Austin, I think this guy had some very valid points. I dont think he was necessarily badmouthing microsoft but just stating the downsides. There are a ton of benefits though and I completely agree with you that our younger generations need to learn about what the future has in store. I was introduced to computers at a very young age and technology has done nothing but help me in my life.

  4. First off, after reading the first three paragraphs in this guys article, i would merely like to point out his ineptitude at teaching if he’s requiring an elementary student to write an essay unless the kid was like a genius or something…i’d honestly be surprised if an average elementary school student even knew what an essay was, if they didnt have an older sibling that complained about them. Second, i would like to say that this dude’s a friggin moron. Just because people misuse the program, doesnt mean the thing is stupid, or as he says “evil”. in the hands of a competent presenter, flashy animations and transitions are almost non-existant, and are usually used for, yes you guessed it, kids, teens, and public conventions and stuff. If i were to be presenting a powerpoint to a business, I would certaintly not make it showy, even if i was trying to pitch to them. they are business men, not kids, and they should be treated as such. if he’s going around doing things like that, no wonder he hates the program; everyone keeps telling him “NO”. Powerpoint is not all about showy stuff, it has many helpful tools that can help a presenter when facing an audience. my conclusion of this guy is that he’s judgemental, stuck-up, and seriously needs to pull the telephone pole out.

    http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/powerpoint-help/tips-for-creating-and-delivering-an-effective-presentation-HA010207864.aspx

    for my first site, i chose to find a helpful tips website, and since microsoft made the thing, i figure they might, key word there being “might”, know what they are talking about. this site gives many good tips on how to keep an audiences attention, setting up equipment and making sure it is an effective presentation. I liked the bit about watching the audience, and learning from how they behave during your presentation to improve your next one.

    http://presentationsoft.about.com/od/presentationmistakes/tp/080722_presentation_mistakes.htm

    my second site is about the mistakes that are often found in presentations, and how to avoid them. although some of it rather re-iterates the frist site, i found some interesting info here as well. the “less is more” philosophy really does work, and can really help keeping an audiences attention.

    1. I love how blunt you are about it Will, “that guy needs to pull the telephone pole out.” Classic! I completely agree this guy just seems to be very close minded. I mean sure kids are not learner the same things they used to but times change. During the 1920’s they didn’t teach about HIV and AIDS in high school because it was not an epidemic I know this is an extreme case but it’s almost the same thing. If are schools stayed behind in the times and did not progress with the rest of the world, where would we be? Is that not why we have schools in the first place? To learn about new things, things that can hurt us, help us, and overall give us more knowledge as well as awareness?

      1. yeah although that in itself is another discussion topic haha. I could show so much wrong with the current educational system it would be shocking for many people. in the end, though, I think that most this guy is really just not a very happy camper….I think he should try and make s’mores…everyone loves s’mores. well…unless you’re allergic to chocolate or something. speaking of 1920’s wasn’t there something going on back then? prohibition or something? argh my history is fuzzy, never payed attention….thinking back, I probably should have huh?

    2. I really like your articles that you chose. Austin, I agree with you completely. I mean if you or will weren’t introduced to computers at a young age do you think you’d be going to interface? I know I probably wouldn’t. Even though most of my computer knowledge was self taught, school is what first introduced me to computers. I learned simple typing and even word and PowerPoint. Where do you think you’d be at today if computers in schools were outdated or banned altogether?

    3. I also like how you went right for the kill and stated that most kids won’t even know what an essay is unless they have an older sibling even then they might know what it is but they would have no clue how one works. I also agree with what you said about how even if people misuse the program doesn’t mean the program is bad it’s like how people misuse guns that doesn’t make guns bad.

    4. I’ve actually had to write essays since like third grade, so they are a thing that is taught in elementary. However, they weren’t formatted correctly and had a looser structure, so they weren’t like…high school level essays or anything. An elementary school student might not know how to write one of those, so your point is still valid. All your points are valid, really. I don’t think business men would be making presentations loaded with clip art, anyway.

  5. While I do agree with a few of the points in the article, I feel as though it’s a bit overwhelmingly negative. While some of the things he says are true, he seems a bit overly critical. Sometimes having those extra things, such as clip art and sounds (though I myself don’t care for clip art) help make the presentations more interesting. Some will get bored if the slides have nothing on them. Having your presentation be somewhat of a sales pitch is not necessarily a bad thing. I also don’t think it’s ‘disturbing’ that PowerPoint is being taught in schools. While essays definitely teach them to absorb information and apply it intelligently, I think PowerPoint helps with aesthetics and learning to summarize important information in an appealing manner.

    http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/powerpoint-help/tips-for-creating-and-delivering-an-effective-presentation-HA010207864.aspx

    This is for PowerPoint 2007, but I think a lot of these tips are still very accurate and helpful.

    http://blog.pluralsight.com/improve-your-powerpoint-presentation

    This article has things you shouldn’t do in PowerPoint presentations.

    1. Austin I like your response to the article. Saying that this guy has a personal vendetta against microsoft. I do agree that the world is changing all the time and so is technology. I remember when like you computers were a cool thing to have and now they have beome a neccesity. I have to admit I lived in the “dark ages” for awhile without a computer and didn’t realize how much I was missing out on. I think I spend more time on the computer than I ever do watching television. Of course being in school doing homework is part of that is well. I think that powerpoint can be very useful and definetly has its place.

    2. I really think the future is the computers and as that is the reason I’m here because I don’t have the skills. My son has been on the computer since he was in kinegarten and he could out do me like crazy. I beleive that theat knowledge is key.

  6. I believe that what he says is true and not true in many different ways like how it is causing us to worry more on form than content, I think the exact opposite of that, that powerpoint6 actually has you work on both not just one or the other. Also the fact that there is motions allows the user to keep the audience focused on what you have to say, because of my experiences with word where the person who maid it has to tell the class about what they were researching and everyone about died from boredom and the teacher had to stop him because the fact that nobody was learning anything, whereas the next person had a PowerPoint presentation which kept everyone watching because it had all the info needed but with less shown and a lot more things happening that represented the report he had. My point I’m making is the fact that PowerPoint is great for telling information quickly. But on the bad side PowerPoint drives away from information a little with all the things like animations and sounds and music put into it.

    1. I agree that some of what he says is true and some of what he says is not true. I also agree that PowerPoint is useful for telling information quickly but can pull itself away from that information with all of the extra features it has. However, as long as you don’t add too many distractions in the presentation, PowerPoint can still be very to-the-point and effective when it comes to going over information, I think.

  7. I partially agree with the article. I understand that PowerPoint is basically a tool used to sell something with fancy graphics and slide transitions. However, I think most people are not that stupid to buy something based on a pretty PowerPoint. http://lifehacker.com/how-can-i-make-my-powerpoint-presentations-amazing-507552122 I thought this site was extremely informative and had a lot of good tips for new and experienced PowerPoint users. It had some good tips like how you can put too much information, slide transitions, and animations and make your slideshow look just ridiculous. I really liked the tip to user third-party add-ins to boost your presentation. I’ve heard of using that before but have never tried myself. http://workawesome.com/communication/top-10-coolest-powerpoint-slideshows-slideshare/ This site had links to ten different sites that had a lot of useful information, especially for new PowerPoint users. I like the first link that talks about CEO’s and PowerPoint. Like the article that Dawn chose for the blog, I think there are a number of people that just see the fancy animations and graphics and it makes them want to buy or invest in that product.

  8. http://www.wired.com/wired/archive/11.09/ppt2.html
    I don’t agree with Edward Tufte’s point of view on PowerPoint Is Evil. I disagree when he states that “the more intense the detail, the greater the clarity and understanding ” Depending on your presentation and what you are trying to accomplish and sell. I feel if you add too much to your presentation the busier it is, therefore making it too long, boring and a waste of time for your audience. He mentions “audience boredom is usually a content failure, not a decoration failure” you might have the audiences attention with the content or “idea” your presenting, but if the decoration is boring you have lost their interest and you don’t have a product to sell you most likely will not hold their attention long enough to
    http://www.fctl.ucf.edu/teachingandlearningresources/Technology/PowerPoint/index.php
    Benefits of using PowerPoint:
    You improve audience focus, increasing spontaneity and interactivity, increase visual impact.
    Thanks,
    Gina

    1. “the more intense the detail, the greater the clarity and understanding ” is taken out of context. what he means to say here is that usually, the more details something has the less that can be misconstrued about it, or the more the truth is revealed, the less people have to worry about lies. Also it usually is true, content failure leads to audience boredom. take movies for example; if you sit in a movie theatre for 20, and decide that the movie you are watching is no good, what’s usually the cause? as for me, it’s usually because there nothing in the plot I haven’t seen before, heard or read before. I like new things, and when something gives me something new, I tend to enjoy it a lot more than going over the same thing over and over again. so in a sense, I suppose I can understand where this guy is coming from, but he just look at in a negative fashion that is way too extreme.

      1. I agree with Will, it’s the subject is boring you’re not going to be successful to hold your audience’s attention I think too that what you need to keep in mind is that you are counting on your audience to be interested in what you are presenting and hope it’s not boring if it’s a passion you have and enjoy talking about it will show in your attitude and how you present yourself to your audience.

  9. Here are a few points how to use PowerPoint effectively. We all know that I’s s a useful tool for showing audiences things that enhance what the speaker is saying. It is a useful tool for illustrating the content of a speech, such as by showing photos, graphs charts, maps, etc. Slides that you choose to use for your presentation should be in terms of how much information is on each slide, as well as how many slides are used.

  10. A few more tips. Use high color schemes so that whatever is on your slides is readable. Rehearse your PowerPoint presentation what sequence the slides are in, how to get through it in a consistent manner. If you use graphics or photos, try to use the highest quality you can find or afford clip art and how-resolution graphics blown up on a screen usually detract from a presentation. Proof read you material not once, but twice you might catch an error that was missed the first time.

    1. I think that powerpoint could deffinently be used to our advantage no matter what we do into marketing or family albums. It can all be fun and informational if it’s used right.

  11. I find it interesting to note how many people think Mr. Tufte is close-minded for thinking PowerPoint is detrimental to presentations, without first researching the man. I am posting a link to an article about how he feels about PowerPoint and why (it is from 2011, so closer to today’s software and time frame) for anyone who is interested. http://www.thejuryexpert.com/2011/11/a-necessary-evil-edward-tufte-and-making-the-best-of-powerpoint/

  12. I see what the author is saying about PowerPoint, especially in school. I remember going from writing an essay that was a couple pages and maybe throwing some visuals in, to doing a 5 minute PowerPoint and that’s it. However, PowerPoint is a widely used program that they will use throughout their schooling and in some cases in their future careers. I do agree on that PowerPoint has become the presentation instead of being a piece in presentations. Like the author says, don’t use PowerPoint as your whole presentation, but as a visual aid to add to your presentation. A couple of sites I came across that have tips to help you with PowerPoint are http://lifehacker.com/how-can-i-make-my-powerpoint-presentations-amazing-507552122 which has good tips on how to avoid a boring presentation, and http://workawesome.com/software/14-awesome-powerpoint-resources which also gives you some resources for your presentation and also show you some examples. You can also look on YouTube for some ideas as well.

