Goodbye Dear Friends + New Program Incoming!! (Both Classes)

This blog is a little convoluted, so please bear with me. We have two people leaving our Monday/Wednesday Class and going on to new things. We are also starting a new program upon your return in January.

byeybyeMonday/Wednesday: Please take a moment to say Goodbye to Maria and Danielle. Write them a short bit of praise. Then, answer these questions: 1. Have you ever Used PowerPoint? 2. How familiar are you with PowerPoint? 3. What scares you about PowerPoint? 4. What are you looking forward to in PowerPoint? If you are Maria or Danielle, please take a moment to say goodbye to your classmates. Write a bit of praise for each one, listing them by name. Then, give them advice on PowerPoint and Excel.

Tuesday/Thursday: We are starting Excel in January. Have you ever used Excel? What are you looking forward to in Excel? What are you afraid of in Excel? How do you think you will do in Excel? Go to http://students.interface.edu/dawn/examples.html and look at the 2 things students have created on how to do something in Excel. Then, do a google search and give me 1 link to a site that is meant to help you with Excel. What are some of the features of the site? How will it be helpful, do you think?

First Responses: Monday/Wednesday – Due 12/18/2013 by 6pm. Must be at least 150 words long. Tuesday/Thursday – Due 12/19/2013 by 6pm. Must be at least 150 words long.

Second Responses (2): Monday/Wednesday – Due 01/06/2014 by 6pm. Must be at least 75 words long.  Tuesday/Thursday – Due 01/07/2014 by 6pm. Must be at least 75 words long. Please reply to someone in the other class, give them some advice about PowerPoint. What strategies should they employ? What are some of your best tips? What are some of the problems you encountered?

20 responses

  1. Austin — “We are gathered here today to pay final respects to our
    honored dead. But it should be noted that this death takes place in the
    shadow of new life, the sunrise of a new world; a world that our beloved
    comrade gave his life to protect and nourish. He did not feel this
    sacrifice a vain or empty one, and we will not debate his profound wisdom
    at these proceedings. Of my friend, I can only say this: of all the souls
    I have encountered in my travels, his was the most… human.”

    John — “Didn’t anyone ever tell you? There’s one thing you never
    put in a trap if you’re smart. If you value your continued existence, if
    you have any plans about seeing tomorrow, there’s one thing you
    never, ever put in a trap… Me.”

    Calvin —
    “Hi. Welcome to the future: San Dimas, California — 2688. And I’m
    telling you, it’s great here. The air is clean, the water is clean, even
    the dirt is clean! Bowling averages are way up, minigolf scores are way
    down. And we have more excellent waterslides than any other planet we
    communicate with. I’m telling you, this place is great! But it almost
    wasn’t. You see, 700 years ago, the Two Great Ones ran into a few
    problems. So now I have to travel back in time to help them out. If I
    should fail to keep these two along the correct path, the basis of our
    society will be endangered. Ah, but don’t worry, it’ll all make sense.
    I’m a professional.”

    Will — Since the dawn of human kind, when our ancestors first discovered
    the killing path with rock and bone, blood has been spilled in the name of
    everything, from God, to justice, to simple psychotic rage.
    In the year 2077, after millennia of armed conflict, destructive nature of
    man, could sustain itself, no longer. The world was plunged into an abyss
    of nuclear fire, and radiation.
    But it was not, as some had predicted, the end of the world. Instead, the
    apocalypse was just the prologue to another bloody chapter of human
    history. For man, had succeed destroying the world..
    But war..
    War never changes..”

    Yvonne — Everything happens for a reason. The daily tragedies and
    misfortunes are all meaningful events, leading toward an ideal conclusion.
    With that in mind, there probably isn’t really any meaningless
    misfortune.
    Fuwa Aika (Zetsuen No Tempest)

    Maria – I can’t believe you are abandoning me!!!!!!

    Power Point is easy! It gives you a creative freedom (which all of you
    have). When you arrive the presentations: Have fun, be confident and GO
    FIRST. Excel will be easier now since you have Word and Access kicked.
    Pay attention and keep current with your work and everything will be fine.

  2. Danielle- Why are you leaving me? I knew that Maria was leaving but this is the first I’m hearing about your departure. Why!? It makes me sad cause you always seemed to know what you are talking about. Every time I have a problem with something I come to you first. Well I hope you travel safe through your life and always remember to keep learning, never stop learning.

    Maria – I hope you are excited to return to your family in California, remember that even though you have made a lot of good friends here in the past 14 years and it may be hard top leave them, family is where the heart is. You even get to go home with some new skills that you have learned here, making it a little easier to get a job. Keep learning
    Farwell my friends! I’ll miss you guys!

    I’m not worried about PowerPoint at all! So far everyone that has taken their core classes tells me that Access is the worst most boring thing to learn. And I agree! I have used PowerPoint before so it will be more of a refresh than anything. I’m really excited because I know how fun PowerPoint can be.

    1. Austin
      This is my final core class. Thank Goodness. Access was the most difficult. Life seemed to happen more in Access as well. Go figure. I have to take my MOS Word and Access certification test. I start my Medical Office Administration program in February. So, I will be around campus in Tuesday – Thursday nights. Then Saturday for lab time. You can always email me too. It sounds like you will do well in PowerPoint. It would be fun to come back and see all of your presentations.

    2. Hi Austin,
      I am glad that you are excited to start PowerPoint because it is really fun, this program if you are familiar with it you can do a lot things because this application is very wonderful. In my opinion, I though was very difficult but once started to work on it I realized it was not that difficult. Dawn the instructor help me a lot to understand the instruction. Also, a student told me that Access was boring and difficult as well but we will find out when we get to that class.

  3. Danielle & Maria: hi!!! no clue what to say here, never really interacted with either of you, but i hope you do well in your future endeavors. i only have a small bit of advice, if you’re willing to hear me out; never think you’re alone, no matter where you are in life, there will always be someone who you can confide your troubles with. don’t hesitate to ask for help, because no-one can do everything by themselves. and always keep a smile on your face, even when you’re feeling down, because there will always be something out there that you can enjoy.

    yes I have used powerpoint before, almost every presentation I gave in highschool was in powerpoint, so I have alot of expierience with it as well. Honestly, nothing scares me about powerpoint, I love the application. It is a wonderful tool to use, but it needs to used right. I look forward to all the fun stuff we can do in powerpoint, like drawing, and making slides that can do funny animations. Powerpoint is a very serious program with alot of not-so-serious applications.

    1. Everyone,
      I wish all of you the best in your next 12 weeks and beyond. It sound like most everyone has experience with PowerPoint. It will be fun. Prepare your presentation and practice at home with your family. If you can survive a family audience, you’ll be ok at school. It is possibly I will see you again at my stand and deliver. Take notes and prepare an answer for the unconventional questions. Last words of advice:
      “Buy an Iron and use it”

      1. *sigh* yes yes, it’s always the iron jokes once I get done….well jokes on you! I don’t know how to use an Iron. I hope you have fun, and will see you around sometime…maybe not today….maybe not tomorrow…but sometime definitely….although, I’ve noticed a lot of people don’t recognize me these days for some reason….maybe it’s the hair….should I change my hair again? nah…anyways I hope you have fun wherever you go, enjoy the clouds, the sun and the snow 😀

    2. Will I’m really glad to hear that everyone in the class has used PowerPoint and are extremely confident in it. I love PowerPoint and I think it is going to be my favorite core class to date. I hope that it turns out to be as easy as I think. I was confident going into Word too but soon found out there was a lot more to it than I previously thought. I guess we will soon find out.

    3. Power Point is a program used to create slide show presentations used in the work place, teaching and any other instance where you would be explaining a topic to a group of people. I have used Power Point in the past but it has been a while. But I do know that it is fairly user friendly and anyone could learn how to use it. I would say that I defiantly need a refreshment course on the subject.

  4. Well Maria and Danielle I didn’t talk to you guys much but when I did I learned a few things about you, like how Danielle likes to read books and how Maria you are returning back to that one place real soon I’m just kidding your returning to your home town. Well I’m not one to talk to people even if they are leaving I hope Maria you have a great life where ever that life takes you and I hope Danielle that you continue doing great in life and enjoy what is in the future for you.
    I have used PowerPoint. I quite familiar with PowerPoint, I used PowerPoint in roughly 50% of my high school classes. Nothing scares me about PowerPoint except what comes after we’re done learning it the test. I’m not looking forward too much with PowerPoint because the fact that I’ve used it almost every other day in high school, also the fact is it is a flashy way of showing information that Word could show less flashy.

    1. Calvin, I’ve missed your humor for the last couple of weeks. I’m kind of surprised to find out that everyone is so confident in their PowerPoint skills. I hope that PowerPoint is as fun as I remember it was in high school. I think that the first few days might be a little tedious because I already know the basics of PowerPoint fairly well. I’m excited to start class again though and I think we are going to have a lot of fun this class.

  5. Danielle – You were always very polite to me and I’m sad to see you go and you are really smart and you seem very nice.

    Maria – You were also very smart and I’m sorry you don’t even get to finish up, but I hope life goes well for you in California! I’ll miss your really awesome hair the most of all, I think.

    1. Yes, I have used PowerPoint.

    2. I am very familiar with PowerPoint. I’ve had to use it multiple times in my life to make boring presentations about things like Rome and Space, which you’d think would be cool, but it was really boring content.

    3. Nothing scares me about PowerPoint. Much like I laugh in the face of danger, I laugh in the face of PowerPoint. HA HA HA HA. Okay actually I’m really scared about the presentation thing I think we’ll have to do. It’d be great if maybe I could just not ever do that. That’d be cool.

    4. I’m looking forward to getting an A (: ha ha ha /smug laughter

    1. awww….c’mon the presentations aren’t that bad, just gotta practice 😀 fortunately, I’ve had all inhibitions about talking in front of crowds blown away by my old poetry teacher, renee Roehl. I had to read my poem in front of the entire school for my grade….almost got kicked out because of it, and I certainly got the teacher in trouble…but I don’t think she minded much, and I got the “A” I was hoping for…all in all, best advice for speaking to a group of people, whether it be large, or small, is to breathe steadily and deeply, before, during and after the presentation. a good supply of oxygen can clear the clouds from our heads and allow us to think straight, even when we’re scared, nervous or otherwise incapacitated in front of others. just enjoy the fact that they are all looking at you, paying attention, and snickering behind their backs…ok maybe not that last part, but you get the idea….I hope?

      1. Presentations are totally that bad, they’re the worst! I’ve never been good with them, so I’m very very nervous. I’m not good at the whole ‘speak in front of people’ thing, so. But thank you for the advice nonetheless! Hopefully my nerves will calm down at least a bit before I have to do the presentation. Good thing you got the A you were hoping to get, haha, though I can’t help but wonder what about it got your teacher in trouble.

    2. Well it’s really hard to give advice to anybody seeing as everybody has pretty much said PowerPoint isn’t a challenge and it’s not like I am a god of PowerPoint so I guess all I can say to you is to have fun and enjoy all the possibilities that can come from PowerPoint because PowerPoint is quite simple, much easier than access if I do say so myself, well PowerPoint is also easier than word in my opinion because anything that makes it look good and flow good is great.

      1. Yeah, it really is difficult to give advice to people when everyone is so sure of themselves. PowerPoint is indeed quite simple and definitely a lot easier than Access. I agree with it being easier than Word, too. Word has way too many options and things you can do with it, while PowerPoint is definitely a lot more simple and less complicated. So though Word was pretty easy, I’m pretty sure PowerPoint will be easier, but who knows I guess.

  6. Maria and Danielle, I will miss you both very much! You were so much fun in class and you were always willing to help if I had a question. I wish you both the most of luck in life. Now, about the PowerPoint question’s you asked. I have used PowerPoint mostly in high school. I’m very familiar with PowerPoint and it’s the one core class I’m actually looking forward too. I used it in high school a lot and had a class and both Microsoft Word and PowerPoint. I’m a little worried about how in depth we will be going into PowerPoint. I didn’t realize that Word was going to be so difficult. I’m hoping that PowerPoint won’t confuse me completely like Access has. I’m very excited about getting to build some slide shows though. They are extremely fun and you can kind of put your own spin on things. Adding different clip art images or slide transitions is a lot of fun for me.

    1. Like I said already it’s going to be hard to give advice seeing as everyone has used PowerPoint, and the fact you said you remember it from high school sounds like you won’t need my help, well PowerPoint is simple and you know that so after all the different things we have done in this class I can definitely say I believe you will wreak this part seeing you have worked with PowerPoint before so good luck. Well that’s all I got.

    2. Power Point should be fun to learn, from what I remember it was pretty fun to work with. You can make you own slide shows and put anything you want in them. Sounds pretty fun to me! I’m not really sure what to expect I don’t even think I have ever used Power Point 2010. I have used previous versions of the program but that is just how long it has been since I have had to use it.

  7. Well I am looking forward the next class Excel because I will be need it for my career so, I am really interesting in learn. I’m so excited. Hoping that my teacher Dawn bears with me in this period and understanding me. One thing that I am afraid is not understand the instruction just because English is my second language but I will do my best 110%.
    According to the website example from Interface is awesome, great very clear and easy to me to understand.
    The website that I looked for was http://www.microsoft.com.
    This web is very helpful because have a lot information about commands, functions, worksheet, etc.
    On Excel command explain what the program does very easy again to understand. Excel function as well explain what to do very easy. Excel States help to depending on the actions of the user. There are many websites that we can do research when we have any question about this program.

