Powerful Presentation Practices-Tues/Thurs Class

If your words or images are not on point, making them dance in color won’t make them relevant.–Edward Tufte

Read the following article: http://www.wired.com/wired/archive/11.09/ppt2.html Do you agree or disagree with any of the content? Why or why not? Remember, this was written in 2003, but PowerPoint presentations have not changed much during that time, the program has just become much easier to use. Look for at least two articles that give advice for good PowerPoint presentations. One could also be about what makes a presentation bad.

Copy the links into a word file and answer the questions below about those links:

  1. What relevant points did the article contain?
  2. What new information did you learn?
  3. What information did you disagree with or agree with and why?
  4. Which pieces of information will you keep in mind when creating your own presentation?

Your replies should be more than three sentences, and say more then “I agree.” Don’t repeat information they have given, instead, ask questions, explain why you agree or disagree. It’s a conversation, treat it as one.

First Response is due by Thursday, November 14th before class. It needs to be at least 200 words.

Second Response is due by Tuesday, November 19th before class. It needs to be at least 100 words.

6 responses

  1. I really enjoyed the article on the PowerPoint. And I have to agree, it turns everything into a sales pitch. It’s crazy to think that I am just learning PowerPoint and eleven and twelve-year olds are already learning in school! I think that it has replaced the presentation of a speaker and that we have become somewhat lazy and now just put what we are saying into slides. I do agree, it’s prettier to look at and much more interesting, but what about a good old fashioned presentation?

    http://www.prdaily.com/Main/Articles/12_keys_to_a_great_PowerPoint_presentation__11934.aspx
    I thought this article was interesting because he discusses how much people really dislike sitting through presentations, but I will give it the benefit of the doubt anyways. He explains to have a point to it and staying with the example. I also like how he explains to use powerful images and most importantly, rehearse and rehearse!

    http://www.ragan.com/Main/Articles/20_ways_to_jazz_up_your_PowerPoint_presentations_46377.aspx
    I thought this article was neat because it gives you 20 different articles on PowerPoint. One of the articles gives you five ways to WOW your presentation. For example, don’t stand still! This article was different because it says not to use words on your slides. But I would think that words would be better. If I got up there and had no words to go off, I would probably freeze and lose all train of thought, so on that I definitely don’t agree.

    1. I couldn’t imagine not using words on a PowerPoint. However, one of my old instructors always tried to get us to use the illustration and example method (or something like this) which would show an image and then you explain what it means without a lot of added words. I could not quite get the hang of it, as I needed at least a few words on the screen to remind me of what I was going to be talking about.

    2. Hi Monica:
      I think that the 12 keys to a Great Presentation were very helpful and interesting because it gives the idea of how to start and prepare our self in make a fun presentation. In my opinion with PowerPoint presentation is that have to be simple, short and give the audience the main idea of the Presentation, in others word: just make a simple presentation. A lot of people don’t like to be sitting for hours watching slides because they have to move around and interact with the presenter, but some do like it because are more visual. I rather see a presentation that is simple and get direct to the point.

  2. According to the article “PowerPoint is Evil” by Edward Tufte, I would say that I am agree a little bit with his opinion. One of the reasons why that technology is taking place very fast and manpower is becoming less necessary. For instance, doing a PowerPoint presentation is more visual through a projector, so the presenter is not interacting with the audience is more like reading what is on the slide, this make sometimes the presentation boring if the subject is not interesting.

    On the other hand, I am disagreeing with the author because in some situation or different environment PowerPoint can be very convenience. For example, Travel Agencies and Marketing offices making PowerPoint a very good tool because the presenter can interact with the audience and connect with them making the presentation more fun, interesting and easy to understand because what you want is to engage the audience by asking and respond question that they may have.

    http://lifehacker.com/how-can-i-make-my-powerpoint-presentations-amazing-507552122
    1. What relevant points did the article contain?
    Overloaded with bullets, lacking in focus and filled with poor quality
    2. What new information did you learn?
    That we have to make it clear, simple and a good visual quality.
    3. What information did you disagree with or agree with and why?
    Agree, because the more simple and easy to understand the presentation is going to be interesting.
    4. Which pieces of information will you keep in mind when creating your own presentation?
    I will keep it simple so my audience can understand the message of my presentation.
    http://www.wikihow.com/Create-an-Effective-PowerPoint

    1. What relevant points did the article contain?
    Tips of making a good PowerPoint presentation
    2. What new information did you learn?
    That a fade animation will look clear and professional
    3. What information did you disagree with or agree with and why?
    I agree with his tips because give us a good way of make our presentation more attractive and interesting for the audience.
    4. Which pieces of information will you keep in mind when creating your own presentation?
    That animation should be used for an emphasis of a point and introducing bulleted information.

    1. “is more like reading what is on the slide, this make sometimes the presentation boring if the subject is not interesting.”

      One of the things I want you both to work on is to NOT read what is on the slide. There is nothing more boring than sitting in a presentation with a ton of words on it and the presenter is just reading the words that are already there. Chances are, your audience has finished reading the slide far before you have and their attention is wandering elsewhere. That is why we will use the 6 x 6 rule — no more than six bullet points, each with no more than 6 words (as much as possible). This will stop you from reading directly from the slide and allow your audience to interact with you more.

    2. I think keeping a PowerPoint presentation simple is the most important thing I have learned from almost all these articles. I liked that the point that bullets can be overwhelming. I guess that can be overload. I think that all your articles are really good and very informative. I think I will try a fade animation on my power point presentation. I didn’t know that there was a 6×6 rule to use on bullets. The one thing I haven’t ever been good at is talking in front of people. So I guess maybe this will be a good thing to learn and hopefully PowerPoint will give me the confidence to talk in front of people.

