Interviews – Monday/Wednesday Class (Week 6)

Interviews are Fun!

Click here  to see a list of typical interview questions.  Select 3 questions from any of the Sections of the list and provide your answers to the questions based on your experience and skills.  (Do not use tell me about yourself.) Remember, when you answer questions for a potential employer, you should be thorough and provide proof by example if possible.  You also want to always maximize your strengths and minimize your weaknesses.

Bonus Mojo for choosing a brainteaser question!

First Response: Your first response is due on Wednesday, October 30th by 6pm. You will respond with at least 250 words.

Second Response: Your second (2 of them!) responses are due on Monday, November 4th by 6pm. You will respond to two of your classmates, at least 75 words each post. How could they strengthen their responses? Did they provide enough proof by example? How could they word it differently?

Your original post should look like this:

Question? (section it is from?)

Your answer

Question? (Section it is from?)

Your answer

Question? (Section it is from?)

Please use word to write your original response(s). Use spelling and grammar check. I do not want to see sentences that do not have capital letters at the beginning. I want to see periods that end a sentence more than once through the whole post. Treat it as you would a professional interview. And remember, as always–the code of conduct.

26 responses

  1. Question: What were your last responsibilities of your last position? (Basic Interview Questions)
    In my last position I prepared weekly work schedules for employees. I handled inventory control and ordered supplies as needed. My responsibility was to make sure everything was ready for the next shift. I also completed customer transactions, such as cash, check or credit card. I balanced out a cash drawer at the beginning or end of a shift. I verified that the safe was balanced by doing a reconciliation form every day. I also made daily deposits.

    Question: Why are you leaving your present job? (Basic Interview Questions)
    I am leaving my current job because I am relocating. My husband retired from the military and we have decided to move back to our hometown of San Diego, CA to be closer to family.

    Question: What was the most difficult period in your life, and how did you deal with it? (Behavioral Interview Question)
    The most difficult period in my life was when my husband got deployed overseas for the first time. It was very hard because I was never without him. I really had to be strong for myself and the kids. The kids were little at the time and really didn’t understand why their dad had to go away for six months. Actually, it didn’t really affect them until they got older. It was a very difficult time for me because I had to handle everything on my own and make decisions that needed answers to right away. I had learned to be more patient. I had become a stronger person by not relying on my husband to get certain things done, I could do it myself. I took it one day at a time and survived being a single parent. It wasn’t easy for my husband being away from us and missing out on the birthdays and holidays. I’m glad that the deployments are done and we don’t have to encounter them again.

    1. I feel like you have left a great impression and that you put a lot of effort into your first answer.

      I like how your second answer is strait to the point and completely honest.

      Well your last answer talks about how overcame a great difficulty which to be honest is very impressive to do by yourself with a family to boot also. I feel like you will accomplish anything you want to by the fact that you can overcome great difficulty’s.

  2. How many times do a clock’s hands overlap in a day? (Brainteaser Questions)
    The answer to this question is 22 times roughly every hour and 5-7 minutes

    Have you ever been on a team where someone was not pulling their own weight? How did you handle it? (Behavioral Interview Questions)
    Well I have had this happen plenty of times during school to my summer job during school I would do all my part of the assignment and pretty much do the other persons job even if they were working because I’ve come to an conclusion if I’m working in a group there’s always something I can contribute to the group even after my part of the work has already been completed, and I won’t force my information onto them if they don’t want my help but if they didn’t find what I found I would say hey I found this information would you like to use it? And during my summer job I did my job and didn’t do my coworkers job till I felt like they were too far behind to get close to being done so they wouldn’t look bad in front of the boss.

    What are your lifelong dreams? (More about You)
    My lifelong dreams are to work on computers and with computers all the time and to go to the nerd convention named E3 one of the biggest nerdy places ever where all new games and game systems will be dropping the next year or the year of, I would love to be one of the people displaying off something at E3.

    1. why is there smiley faces hmmmmmmmm

      1. Because you had a colon and a parenthesis close to each other. I fixed it.

    2. Calvin,
      Take it from my life experience that you can’t cover for others. Do what you need to do. You covering up for your team members is not a good choice. If they can’t do their job they shouldn’t be there. In this age of electronics it is also a good idea to document that you offered your help and it was still not taken. An old saved e-mail has saved my booty several times.
      Man you need to breathe. There was only one comma and one question mark in your entire response. The person that is hiring for a corporation is not the nerd you’ll be working with or even your direct boss, it will be someone in HR. You need to learn to sell yourself outside of geek speak.
      It is great that you know what you want to do. However, it’s not all about computers and games all of the time. You will need to communicate with customers and other businesses.

    3. in response to your second one, why would you clean up after them? you should have talked to them about it, and if that didnt work, you should have gone to the supervisor and explained the situation.

      in response to your third, E3 is so awesome. i’ve never actually been, unfortunatly, but ive had the online pass for the last 4 conventions. i can’t wait for Bungie’s Destiny to come out. i really hope it’s something along the lines of an FPS World of Warcraft, or Diablo(more likely), but i’ll just have to wait and see i suppose.

  3. [More About You]
    List five words that describe your character.
    -Five words I would use to describe my character would be: Timid, Weak, Creative, Loyal, Humorous.

    [More About You]
    What kind of personality do you work best with and why?
    -I work best with a humorous, kind, and outgoing personality type. If I am working with someone who is nice and easy to talk to, it will take me a lot less time to become comfortable around them. If they can make me laugh, that helps a lot too. If I am comfortable I can do my work better and get it done more quickly. If I am uncomfortable I do not work nearly as well, so working with a partner who I can quickly become comfortable around is ideal.

    [More About you]
    If you were an animal, which one would you want to be? And why?
    -If I could choose to be an animal, I would want to be a black Jaguar, which is my favorite animal. They’re built for strength and surprise attacks, able to ambush even the most alert animals. Their rosettes act as camouflage, which definitely help with their ambushing skills. They’re solitary and work best alone, like myself. They have adorable little babies. They’re the third largest big cat and have the ability to bite through skulls. I included the black fur in my answer because black jaguars are referred to as panthers, and as a kid panthers were my favorite, but there are actually a few different big cats referred to as panthers.

    1. Do you think telling an employer that you’re weak would be a good idea? How could you reword that so it doesn’t sound so down on yourself?

      1. No, I don’t really think telling an employer that I’m weak would be the best idea. I tried to fix the fact that it sounded like I was being down on myself by adding three good things after it as a distraction, but that probably wouldn’t really work. I guess I could just replace it with something good, but it feels off somehow, like I’m being dishonest or something stupid like that. I don’t know.

    2. I like the basis for your questions and answers. You can read your shyness and lack of confidence. I took away from question two that you do not work well with other people. I would imagine that in the Web industry you will be asked to collaborate with other people or departments for particular projects. You have to know and project that you and your skills are there for a reason. I love your answer about your favorite animal. I would refine an exact characteristic and expand on how it pertains to your strengths.

      1. I am really hoping that somehow everything will go well if it comes to that. The collaborating with people, I mean. I was going to concentrate on one aspect, yeah, but I needed 250 entire words and that made concentrating on one sort of hard, I guess. If I had to rewrite it I’d probably concentrate on the fact that jaguars are ambush hunters. And then I’d come up with a witty reason for why that connects to me.

  4. Where would you like to be in your career five years from now? Basic Interview Questions
    I expect to enter my career as an entry-level employee. Within the next five years I would like to be in a position of power. I’ve been in charge of employees before and I thought I did a good job. I work better when I have more responsibilities and more control. I like being challenged and work better under pressure than when everything is set up for me.

    What was the last project you headed up, and what was its outcome? Behavioral Interview Questions
    When I worked for R.M.S.I, I ran a team of up to ten people for four nights every week. Every night when, we got to the store, I would put everyone on a set and make sure they knew what they were doing. We never had any major issues and when a problem did arise I was able to figure it out. It went really well and I was in that position for over a year and worked at the company for over two years.

    If you found out your company was doing something against the law, like fraud, what would you do? Behavioral Interview Questions
    If I found out they were doing something against the law, I wouldn’t jump to any conclusions. I would first talk to my supervisor about it. If the problem couldn’t be resolved there then I would move up the chain. I’d talk to the manager and the owner if I had to. If the problem was still not resolved then I may have to take more drastic measures and contact the B.B.B or the authorities.

    1. I liked all of the questions you picked and your responses were very well worded, but I did also think that the response to your second question could have had some more details. Like what types of things would you have to make sure were getting done by your crew? Or what kinds of things happened that you would have to try and fix? I really enjoyed your third response about how you wouldn’t jump to conclusions and talk to someone in management to see if the problem could be resolved.

    2. For your first answer that is a good idea for great future.

      For your Second answer that is some interesting things you had to do but you managed to do it.

      For your last answer what happens if you confront your supervisor and he knows that they are doing something illegal you realize that they are from the conversation you have with him and he figures you know too much and you get fired then what would you do?

    3. I liked your responses to the questions. You are very determined and have a great attitude for your future. I hope you reach your goals and stay on the right track. It sounds like you have very good organizational skills when comes to projects. I hope you continue to do well with any future projects. I agree with you on your third response. I wouldn’t jump any conclusions either. It seems to be in anyone’s best interest to confront the issue rather than assuming the worse. Good responses!!

  5. Why do you want this job?

    Answer: I have worked in the restaurant industry for the past ten years and I always wanted to do something else with my life. I always enjoyed Web design and working with computers so I thought it would be my best choice. Not only would I have a better paying job with benefits and paid vacation, but I would also have the happiness for doing a job I actually enjoy.

    Where would you like to be in your career five years from now?

    Answer: I want to keep moving up in the company and be a lead Web designer, when I worked in a kitchen I always wanted to be a chef. After five years I was making great money as a sou chef doing exactly what I always wanted to do. When I want something I go for it and at that is a perfect example of getting what I was after.

    What were the responsibilities of your last position?

    Answer: I have had a lot of responsibilities at my last position I did everything from washing dishes to being a chef. Being a line cook I had to make sure that all the equipment was cleaned and ready to go for the morning crew, as well as making sure that all the food was covered and safe for the night. When I worked as a chef I was responsible for ordering food for the whole restaurant, keep food cost down and making sure everyone was doing their jobs. There was a lot of babysitting to be done but all in all I had a good experience.

    1. um…im going to ask serious questions to your response, mostly because i dont have much work experience.

      to your first response:
      What was working in the restaurant industry like? how much of that experience do you think will set you apart from other applicants in the web design field? leadership, of course, but what else?

      to your second response:
      were you happy with your old career? if so, why did you choose to pursue a web design career field? how long did it take you to become a Sou Chef? how long do you think it might take for you to get into a lead web designer postion? is there anything you forsee that might cause an issue with that goal?

      to your third response:
      it sounds like there is alot of juggling when working as a chef, so how good are you at multitasking? a lead web designer position must oversee all aspects of the projects, from text affects anc background objects to basic operation and navigation of the site. do you think you could adequately cover all of the aforementioned responsibilities as well as more?

    2. I really have nothing bad to say about your choice of questions or responses. You went into good detail with your answers but didn’t try to oversell yourself. The only bad thing that I think is you said something about paid vacation and better benefits. What if the job doesn’t over either of those things, or what if they aren’t very good? I liked your answer about your responsibilities at your last position. It shows that you know how to organize people and get them to complete a task.

  6. •How many times do a clock’s hands overlap in a day?

    A Clock’s hands overlap 24 times per day, once per hour, on the hour. on the other hand, if the clock has a second hand it would be considerably higher, overlaping at least twice a minute, (once for the minute hand and once for the hour hand.) of course one would also be able to argue, that due to the design of most modern clocks, the hand are always overlapping by some degree, since they both sit on a single central piller, that rotates the two (or three) hands.

    •If you could choose one superhero power, what would it be and why?

    I would choose the ability to control Time, not to change history, but to observe it, and to see for myself what really happened. i would also like to see the point in human history where deep space travel, exploration and colonization would be possible.

    •With your eyes closed, tell me step-by-step how to tie my shoes.

    Grab both ends of the shoelace, bring them together at the tips with one hand, go about two inches down with the other, and wrap the shoelace lightly around two fingers with one full rotation. twist the loop 180 degrees, and pull the base of the shoelace through the loop, and pull tight.

    1. i redact my earlier statement of the clocks hands overlapping 24 times per day. it really is 22.

  7. This is a really good subject. Like most, I was not aware that many of these questions actually get asked in an interview.
    What is your greatest failure and what did you learn from it? (Behavioral)
    My greatest failure is not providing the customer service that I am capable of. One of the requirements at Interface College is to take professional development. A piece of that is customer service 101. I have been in customer service for 17 years and I have learned so many things from the class already. For example, I didn’t know that my co-workers were internal customers. I only knew of external customers. There have been many things that I also had forgotten were a part of customer service. It has been a good growing experience for me.
    If you found out that your company was breaking the law or committing fraud, what would you do? (More about you)
    I do not have experience with my company breaking the law, but I do have experience with turning a co-worker in for stealing from the company. It is a terrible gut check when you find someone steeling. I immediately went to my boss and he took note of what I thought was “fishy”. I went to my boss three times after that to detail additional occurrences of “fishy”. My coworker was rightfully fired. I hope I never have to deal with that on a larger scale.
    If selected for this position can you describe your strategy for the first 90 days? (Getting Started)
    My first strategy would be to learn the ropes of my new position. Learn more about the company and where my specific skills will help the company. Next, I would evaluate the current duties of my new position and how I can improve them.

    1. I thought that all your response were very strong, to the point and worded very well. The first response I felt was a great example of you realizing that you’re always going to keep learning no matter what field you are in. You did customer service for quite a few years, but when you went back to school you learned even more about your job. These realizations are important they teach us to grow and that was a perfect example. I don’t think I would have been able to answer that question half as good as you did. I took a lot from it, thank you!

    2. This assignment was so hard! It’s really hard to critique all these because everyone did such a good job. I liked that you said you have tons of customer service experience and are still learning new things. You learn new things every day in life. I think that’s really good to show an employer you pick up on stuff like that. I picked the question about someone breaking the law at a company. I think it would be really difficult to deal with and I hope I would have taken the same approach as you.

    3. I’m really impressed that you can admit to not providing customer service to your capability. For some people it is very difficult to admit to anything that is negative. It’s great that you are learning and developing better customer service skills through school. I have some difficulty with customer service in my current job and have learned from our customer service segment and how to deal with some situations occurring at work. I also learned how do provide better customer service through some of our lessons. I hope you can continue to take what you learn from school and utilize it in your current job and your future job.

