Week 5 Discussion -Both Classes

Let’s Look At…

Resumes change over time. If you learned how to create a resume as little as 5-years ago, then you are using older ideas. The trends for resumes change drastically, and if you are searching for a job, it is up to you to do research on what you should and shouldn’t include in a resume–or even how to design it. What you learn in class today will more than likely change in the years to come. With all the new media that is widely available, the types of resumes change as well. There are

First Response: Your mission, should you accept it (and you will accept it, because you have to) is to review the sites I’ve posted. Would you use any of those resume types? Why or why not? Now, find two websites. Copy the URLs and paste them into a word document. Using your mind, give us highlights of the three sites–what trends do they show? What are they suggesting? Do these suggestion differ between the two? What stood out to you the most in the two articles? What would you actually USE from the articles? Find a third article. This one should be about things to AVOID in a resume. Copy and paste the link. Did you know to avoid these things? Does this page clash with the ones you’ve posted (for example, does it say not to do something that the others suggested)? Once you’ve reached 200 words, feel free to post your response below. (You can go beyond 200 words!) See the due dates below.

Second Response: For your second responses, click on the links provided. Were they the same as any of the other links already posted? Did the information provided in the link make sense? Did you agree/disagree with their findings? What did they find that you didn’t?

Please use Word to write your post. Included in Word is a wonderful spell-checking tool. Use it. Also, make sure you capitalize your I’s and the beginning words in sentences. Your post should look like this:

Stuff about the links I posted.

http://www.yourlink.com

What you say about your link. Using words from your MIND!

http://www.yourotherlink.com

More words from your mind. You are amazing!

http://www.yourresumedontslink.com

Words from your mind that explain what NOT to do according to this link here.

Monday/Wednesday

First response is due by Wednesday, October 23rd by 6pm – 200 words (or more)
Second response is due by Monday, October 28th by 6pm – 100 words (or more)


Tuesday/Thursday

First response is due by Thursday, October 24th by 6pm – 200 words (or more)
Second response is due by Tuesday, October 29th by 6pm – 100 words (or more)

29 responses

  1. Even though the video resume was awesome in its own way, I wouldn’t use it, one it is all fake, two there’s just random words said on the screen once and awhile, three it doesn’t talk about his hard skills at all really.
    For the online resume I would use it over the video resume because the online resume talks about her hard skills and soft skills and her achievements, also it shows where she has worked and has studied in the past.
    For the twitter resume sounds boring and a waste of time to me because I don’t use twitter I’d rather do a resume on a piece of paper that tweet my resume to an employer.
    Once again I wouldn’t like an employer using my Facebook to know about me I’d rather tell them in person, personally.
    http://resumizer.com/demos/ascii.htm
    I would use this type of resume because it’s simple and it gets to the point quite fast.

    I would also probably do something like this because it’s quite simple and to the point.

    This is what I would avoid at all cost way to flashy, and tells way to much personal life over hard and soft skills, and also just way to much going on different colors all over the place and different fonts.

    1. Great bad resume. Do you think it’s flashy or just badly done? The second resume is pretty cool, especially for someone who is in graphic design.

      For the first resume, though…it is simple and to the point. However, do you think it would stand out in a stack of resumes? How much time do you think employers spend looking at each resume?

    2. I believe that the first resume is simple and to the point as Dawn says. But I don’t think that it would stand out because of the style used. I do believe that the content of it is good. I think it needs to be formatted with some style, like bullets added and centered headings, etc. The second one is very creative and I think would really stand out and attract the potential employer. I think the bad resume is a perfect example of what not to do on a resume. It’s too flashy and too many colors. Good choices on your resumes.

    3. Calvin
      Great resume sites. I liked the first one, it is very simple. I am still questioning if one should put “References available upon request” at the bottom of ones resume. I think it is a good idea to bring them printed out and ask if they are needed. It may just be me but I don’t care for it being printed at the bottom. Your second site you chose is great as well, especially if you are going into Web design. It shows your creativity. The third site you chose is a great example but it is two pages. Is this ok? Or should it really be kept to one page to start, then have a long version printed for the interview.

    4. I like your first resume but it seems a little simple. If an employer was looking through a stack of resumes do you think that yours would stand out? I really liked your second resume though. I found one that was similar. It seems a little flashy but I think employers nowadays are looking for stuff like that. Your resume can list all your hard and soft skills but it can also show the employer what you can do with a computer. Your bad resume isn’t terrible but it’s not good either. It’s hard to read and there are a couple different colors that make it look terrible. I think the second resume would suit you and I hope to make one like that for myself.

    5. liked the first resume as it was really easy to read and I believe too the point. I also have put References Available on Request but now I am thinking that I might actually just put them on my resume instead. Because then the potential employer can just call if they need too instead of having to ask. I should be willing to already have that information available to them. But I really loved the second resume website. Visually it was easy to read, but also had the most important information needed. I like the way the most important items just “popped” out at you.

  2. The video resume was LEGEN…………..wait for it……………DARY!!!!!!! Depending on what type of job you may be going for a video resume may work. Barney’s resume probably wouldn’t suit you though. The online resume was excellent and probably the best one. Employers like to see well written and thought out resumes. They also like to see all your skills, hard and soft ones. I think it’s awesome that employers are starting to look at social media sites more. They can give insight into a future employee, but that isn’t all good. I know I have some stuff on Facebook that I wouldn’t want an employer to see, and I’m sure a lot of people do.

    http://www.behance.net/gallery/Resume/2615735
    This resume is awesome and although it might not work for the type of job I would get right out of school, it may work for a job I get in the future.


    I really like this resume too. They are both flashy but they tell the employer a lot about your hard and soft skills. Just looking at the resume explains your hard skills extremely well. I may look into making a resume like this.


    HAHAHA this may not be the best resume to use. I guess it all depends on what the employer likes. I don’t think I’d have the guts to hand this to an employer.

    1. I enjoyed the first website a lot. Visually it was very nice to look at but a little hard to read. I’m assuming he was looking for a job as a web designer? But it definitely looks like he spent quite a bit of time on it and that shows hard work and dedication. The third website was definitely not what you want to bring to any interview. I believe people probably have even give out resumes like this. You wouldn’t find me doing anything like this but I can give them credit if they did. I would like to see the outcome of this interview.

  3. Personally, I did not care the video resume. I guess you can call me old fashioned but I prefer paper resumes over the video one. It did not appeal to me at all. I felt as if I was watching a short funny movie. I did not take it serious. I guess if I was applying for some type of production company or anything associated with film I would use something like that. I did like the online resume. It looks more professional and stood out to me more than the video one. To me it looks more like a resume should look. I liked how it has the bars to represent the level of skills the person has. I really liked the outline of the resume and how it looked. It makes the person look very serious of herself and very confident about herself. As for the Twitter and Facebook resumes I did not like them. They seemed too personal. I don’t know anything about Twitter or how it works so I don’t really understand the concept of that. As for Facebook, I do have some knowledge of it, just because I have one. I basically use Facebook to keep in touch with family and friends. I really wouldn’t know how to use it for a resume even though there is an explanation of how to set one up. Again, this is something that I believe is too personal and I wouldn’t that information out there. I believe that this would be the way to go if you were applying for something other than an office position or something along those lines.
    http://careerrocketeer.com/2011/06/why-you-need-to-put-your-resume-online.html
    http://www.glassdoor.com/blog/bolstering-online-resume-hired/
    In these two sites they give reasons how having an online resume will get hired. I really like the idea of having an online resume. It gives the employer easy access to find you and puts your resume out there for someone to find exactly what they are looking for. It’s like putting an ad out. What stood out the most is the fact that online resumes are much more sufficient than the paper ones.
    http://www.careerbuilder.com/Article/CB-1479-Resumes-Cover-Letters-10-Things-to-Leave-Off-Your-R%C3%A9sum%C3%A9/
    In this third site I found it says not to post your picture and to leave out your interests and hobbies but yet in the Facebook resume outline it says to include those things on your page. I feel this site was accurate about what to leave out of your resume.

    1. I know what you mean about not liking the video resume it really wasn’t for me either. I did like the online resume aspect, I never really thought about a resume online before in the first Web site that you posted it talked about what you people need to put their resumes online. It brought out the fact that more and more employers are looking for prospective candidates online. Having your resume online for this reason will greatly increase your chances of getting a job. I also really like how this site brought up that if you have a resume online it will allow you to reveal more of yourself to an employer because you are not limited to just a few pieces of paper.

  4. Being an older generation and getting back into the job search market, understanding this subject is on my priority list. I want to make sure I am doing everything correct to compete with the younger generation for the same jobs. As much as I want to compete I do not see myself making a video resume or a Twesume. What? Really? I think making either of these would tell a potential employer that I was trying too hard and desperate. I have made an online resume for a class project. I like the idea but I am not entirely sold. I like the idea of having a Facebook or LinkedIn. It seems that either of these would say that I am current with technology.
    http://www.getinterviews.com/signs-your-resume-is-old-school.html
    This first site was surprising. It gives you the details to determine if your resume needs to be updated. Three points that I have been taught and currently have on my resume are: Don’t use bullets, Don’t use an objective and keep it to one page. I am confused on these aspects. As all three of these items I have learned recently.
    http://www.gotresumebuilder.com/
    I liked this site. This site would be very helpful if you have never made a resume before or if you need help to update it.
    http://insights.wired.com/profiles/blogs/the-seven-dos-do-nots-of-writing-a-great-resume#axzz2iZ9xtfsf
    This site has the dos and don’ts of resume writing. It again mentions to be aware of the presence of online job candidate researching. This site tells you to use bullets instead of paragraphs. It also states to not use an objective. You need to have a professional email address, and to make sure you have no grammar mistakes.

    1. I agreed with a good amount of the first site, I think, but there was one part I thought was a bit incorrect! I could be wrong, of course, but still. The line, “…you’ve included a fax number in your contact information. Think about this – why would an employer need this gem of information?” was what bothered me because although fax machines aren’t really used in homes anymore, there are still a surprising amount of businesses and stuff that use fax machines, so it might actually be useful depending on what place you’re applying to. I liked the rest of your sites, too, very useful information!

    2. I like how your first link show if your resume is outdated like you said it’s quite informative.
      I like how your second link breaks down every single part of the resume down to the bottom like the font of, making sure that every little detail is perfect.
      I also like how your last link show both dos and the don’ts of a resume, really good idea to get both next to each other to make sure your following both of them.
      I like all three of your post because they get to the point and don’t have marks here and there pulling your eyes away from the details provided.

  5. I wouldn’t use a twitter or facebook resume because I don’t really use either site and I find it rather ridiculous. Plus twitter has a limited amount of characters. I wouldn’t use a video resume either because I can’t really think of a way for it to not come off as a bad infomercial or something. It feels absurd. An online resume I might be okay with using, I guess, though I’m not entirely sure about using one.

    http://www.snagajob.com/resources/the-new-resume

    This article talks about twitter resumes, infographics, video resumes, using color, multi-page resumes, personal brandings, resume fundamentals, work experience, education and qualification, your achievements, keywords, and numbers.

    http://thelasallenetwork.com/advice/current-resume-trends/

    This article talks about using a positioning statement and not an objective, using multimedia, including social media contact information on your resume, using bullets instead of paragraphs, and quantifying achievements. What stood out to me in this article was that it suggested using bullets instead of paragraphs, because I’ve heard you shouldn’t.

    http://ditchingdull.wordpress.com/2013/05/28/4-not-so-great-resume-trends/

    This article talks about resume trends that you shouldn’t do. Not listing an address, including vague objectives, not having a cover letter, and ‘stalking’. I feel twitter resumes probably have most of those problems, since twitter has the whole character limit thing going on.

    1. I am not sure about the Twitter resume either. I suppose though, with 140 characters it makes you really examine what is important about you. It’s almost like a mini TMAY. I found your first site interesting. I like that it talks about using a multi-page resume if you need to. In the second site what stood out to me was the “Quantify Your Achievements”. If you have specific numbers or stats to provide, do it. I really like that the third site if from the HR prospective. It is a great insight. I have seen several subpar resume’s cross my desk as well. I am taking that knowledge and improving my what not to do list.

      1. That is true, I guess the 140 character limit would really force you to think about what is really important about yourself. I did not think about it that way! I still do not think it would make a fantastic resume, but it would probably be a nice thing to try to do. Maybe not as an actual resume, but for like…practice or something, perhaps! And that is a good idea, taking the knowledge of what is supbar about the resumes that cross your desk and using those things to improve on your own. I agree about the quantifying achievements, that stood out to me as well.

  6. I do not think I would use a video resume unless I was applying for a job out of state, I think that I video resume would be a little more personal to the employer then posting a normal resume on the internet. But I think that going into a job interview in person it the best possible way to get a job. In my case, sense I am going in to Web design I would like to put my resume into a clever, easy to use Web site to show off my talents to a potential employer.

    http://jobsearch.about.com/od/resumewriting/tp/resume-sections.htm

    This first site I found broke down everything you need to put in your resume and what sections to include. I feel that this is what I have to most trouble with I never know how to start, this site would be a great starting point to any resume if you wanted a basic outline.

    http://www.hongkiat.com/blog/ways-to-get-your-resume-noticed/

    What really stood out in the article was to have an adaptable resume meaning that you do not want to send out the same exact resume to multiple organizations. You want to be sure to customize your resume to the specific job and organization that you are applying for.

    http://money.howstuffworks.com/business/getting-a-job/10-things-to-leave-off-your-resume.htm#page=3

    This particular article was interesting, it was the 10 things you should not put in your resume. I never really thought about age which was number eight on the list. I never thought about not putting my age on my resume, they even went as are to explain why you do not want to put specific dates of your education into a resume because it might makes you degree seem dated or irrelevant if you got your degree years ago.

    1. The websites you chose were really good choices. I found them to be very informative and helpful in all aspects of putting a resume together. I agree with you on your insight about the first site. It broke everything down for you and is a great guide in helping you put together a resume for the first time. I liked how the second site defined all the different types of resumes. I would definitely use this site to help put together my resume. It really was very easy to follow and comprehend. Everything in it made sense and was not complicated at all. I believe that all the sites you found were very helpful with the do’s and don’ts of a resume. Good choices.

    2. The first website link provided is a good choice; i believe you have covered every part in the website quite well. There’s not much for me to comment on it because you covered it yourself.
      I like how your second post was a different way to look at the resume itself. Also how to make your resume better than it is.
      I think your third post describes what not to do perfectly i like how it tells you what not to do at all, and why to not put them on your resume.
      Over all you did a really good job finding the required postings.

    3. I really liked the first two websites you chose. They were extremely informative. I think that you kind of missed the point though. Maybe I’m wrong but I thought you were supposed to find examples of resumes, not just good information to put into a resume. However the information you found was really interesting and I even bookmarked the second one. It’s easy to make a resume with all of your information but it’s extremely hard to get that resume noticed. Especially when an employer is looking through a stack of resumes that looks mostly the same. Your bad resume tips were good too. I never thought that it would be bad to put your marital status or age into your resume. All the sites you chose had some really good info that I may use later. Good job Austin!

  7. To me all the website were helpful and useful, and believe it or not but I did learn a few new things reading these articles. The second link there explains in detail what you should and shouldn’t have in a video resume should you ever choose to create one. It gives you 5 simple tips to follow should you do so. What was really interesting to me were the two articles about creating a twitter resume (twesume) and the one about creating a Facebook resume. I would have never thought that employers actually use social media sights to find applicants and to check out their resumes. Looking at the numbers they have there about how many companies and employees use twitter and Facebook and twitter almost makes me want to do something like that in the future. I really liked the online resume though, very professional and I’m sure it would impress a potential employer also.
    http://www.wa.gov/esd/guides/resume/post/post_sample.htm
    http://www.cnn.com/2013/04/22/business/twitter-resume-cv-job/
    The first link I have is on how to make an online resume, in my opinion it’s very short and to the point. It tells you type it up in Word and then gives you suggestions on some of the formatting that you could use in your resume. It also gives an example. The second link is about Social Media Resumes. This new rend of resumes on a social sight is really getting my attention. Especially since there are a ton of employers that use the sights to collect applicant for their position.
    http://www1.ctdol.state.ct.us/jcc/viewarticle.asp?intArticle=24
    In this article it list ten things to avoid in a resume. To be honest most of the things I already know thanks to the interview that I have and Personal Development web site.

    1. Slavic, I thought the web site on the Twitter and Facebook was interesting considering that I have no Idea how these two formats even work. It would be hard to jam everything in a One Hundred and Forty words or is it characters? See I have no clue, plus I thought future employers looked up people on said forums to seek out negatives about you? But obviously times are changing so to stay ahead or in the game period, I might have to learn how to use and make a Twesume. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.
      Thank you,
      Jason

    2. I really liked your first link you posted it was very simple and to the point just like you said, I thought it was great how they gave you all the steps you need to create an online resume. Then at the end it gave you a sample so you would know what the finished product would be, very nice! I was not all about the Twitter resumes maybe it is because I’m not big on Twitter, or that I would feel very limited if I had to use only 140 words for an entire resume. I don’t think personally that I would be able to sell myself to an employer with only 140 words

  8. I didn’t realize that there were so many different types of resumes now! I guess I’ve been really boring in the last couple I’ve done then, lol. As far as the video resume goes, I personally would never do this one. I absolutely hate being on camera and I feel this type of resume would probably hurt me more than it would help me. Online resumes would be something I actually would really enjoy doing. That’s more my speed, and I though the online resume you provided was quite informative and very pleasant to look at and very easy to read. So I guess I will explore Facebook and twitter resumes because those are something that sounds interesting.
    http://www.businessinsider.com/insanely-creative-resumes-2011-6 was the first article I found on 13 Insanely Cool Resumes that landed really cool interviews and even jobs. One guy even got a job designing his resume as a movie poster. That was pretty neat. This was probably the best one I came across because it gave you so many different ideas.
    http://www.businessinsider.com/11-creative-resumes-that-have-gone-viral-2013- was the second one I found on really different types of resumes. One guy was a web design manager who built a website that looked like a Product Page out of Amazon! Now that’s pretty awesome.
    Both websites were similar and I didn’t see much difference between the two. I just liked seeing so many different types of resumes.
    http://jobsearch.about.com/od/resumetips/a/top-resume-mistakes.htm this article was on what to avoid on a resume. It pointed out a lot of good pointers on what not do that I hadn’t even thought of. Like NOT including keywords that match the job posting.
    The first two websites were a little more eclectic and fun to read. The last website was pretty boring but had good tips anyways.

    1. Monica, I agree with the last web site and what they were saying about an old fashioned resume makes you look antiquated and out of touch with technology today. I should know I don’t do twitter of facebook so I’m already behind the power curve, maybe I’ll have to get one. The first to web sites either took for ever loading or had problems finding the site. I’m sure they were fantastic and highly educational. I’ll try looking them up at a later time especially the one that had 13 different examples of scary wicked resumes that worked.
      Thank you,
      Jason

    2. I feel the same way you do, I never even thought of all the different resume trends that are out there. I mostly saw and heard of just the old fashion way and a website. It’s interesting to see the different trends that people come up with these days. Your first link is pretty interesting! It is hard to believe that a resume like that could even get an interview, let alone a job! Your second link doesn’t work. The last link you have is really informative. It gives good detail of things to do and not to do in a resume.

  9. Angelica Pinili – I thought that was well done, the use of video included with Power Point features was very clever. The way she asked the questions in the transitions was a great way to answer possible questions asked in the interview, not to mention the fact she did a video presentation as opposed to an e-mailed resume stands out.
    James Corne – It was alright it got the point across that he is a workaholic, and enjoys coffee. But, I think you could have conveyed the message and be sensitive at the same time. C’mon you don’t know when your submitting said video, if the recipient hasn’t been or is an alcoholic or possibly a family member. Not a working formula for me, I think it was poor taste.
    http://mashable.com/2011/05/28/online-resume/
    This site talk a lot about social and video resumes, and it highly recommended that you make your own website if you don’t already have one. There were a couple of new videos a few that were on the second suggested site. It seems the latest way to get your resume out there is social (Twitter, Facebook). Of course, there’s always LinkedIn, a staple of the professional’s online presence. LinkedIn has become the standard online professional network, and like Facebook and Twitter, it often appears near the top of search inquiries involving people, as a result of its high ranking across search engines. When a potential employer searches for information about you online, you’ll want some semblance of your professional life to appear in search results.

    This is a great website for making a resume all the way up to showing how to make a video; all of this is on the same site.

    This website was very helpful, I suggest anyone who still has to do there Mock Interview write this URL down to use for reviewing comments from the Mock Interviewer. Lord knows I did a lot of the wrong things, like writing references upon request she asked I wasn’t prepared.
    I will OMIT my resume I don’t need it critiqued by anyone other than the PAID Professionals.
    Thank Youuu!
    Jason

    1. I liked the first link you have about online resumes. It makes sense that an online resume would stand out more rather than an old fashion one. There are just way more things you could do online in creating a resume! Things to make you resume look professional and for it to stand out more than other resumes. The second link is very helpful. It would be something I use if I ever construct an online resume. I’m on the same page you are. There were many things that I didn’t do in my interview that would have helped me out a lot.

  10. Personally i would not us a video or a twitter resume, so if i had to choose i would reluctantly choose a facebook resume, or at least styling my facebook like a resume. the online resume looked neat, but i couldnt take it seriously…i mean seriously, a Skillometer? i was unable to find any websites because google kept giving me this message

    Google
    Sorry…
    We’re sorry…

    … but your computer or network may be sending automated queries. To protect our users, we can’t process your request right now.
    See Google Help for more information.

    © 2013 Google – Google Home

    http://www.google.com/sorry/?continue=http://www.google.com/search%3Fq%3Dthings%2520to%2520do%2520in%2520an%2520interview%26ie%3Dutf-8%26oe%3Dutf-8%26aq%3Dt%26rls%3Dorg.mozilla:en-US:official%26client%3Dfirefox-a%26channel%3Dnp%26source%3Dhp

